GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

  1. #1
    Maxkaos is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    Hi guys,
    anyone know if is possibile update the iDrive 2 HDD maps?

  2. #2
    SnoopJohn's Avatar
    SnoopJohn is offline Second Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 333 Times in 41 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    that call Premium map and is installed from your dealer

  3. #3
    Slons is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    248
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 25 Times in 17 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    It is necessary to have 2 positions:

    - Navigation DVDs
    - Activation Code (from dealer only)

  4. #4
    SnoopJohn's Avatar
    SnoopJohn is offline Second Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 333 Times in 41 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    i think exist just sd card for this map

  5. #5
    Slons is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    248
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 25 Times in 17 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    I heard that there are 3 DVD DL with Europe.

  6. #6
    Maxkaos is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    Hi friends,
    thanks for the answer.

    The activation code is "binded" with the S/N of my car? Or I can buy the update DVD and use it with more cars?

  7. #7
    aso
    aso is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxkaos View Post
    Hi friends,
    thanks for the answer.

    The activation code is "binded" with the S/N of my car? Or I can buy the update DVD and use it with more cars?
    DVD from dealer is only for your car, dealer order DVD update for your S/N car, no use more cars, BMW speak "copyright"...

    maybe use this DVD update on other car if you have activation code from dealer

    aso...
    Last edited by aso; 19th May 2010 at 21:08.

  8. #8
    571
    571 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 32 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    Where can we find these dvd's?
    Update, manual? how-to update trough USB?

  9. #9
    ozi
    ozi is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    i think it would be nice to write (under a sticky) that newest idrive systems (with HDD) CAN NOT BE MANUALY upgraded. car has to be connected to a tester and on-the fly upgraded from German servers. thus, this can be ONLY DONE @ the authorized BMW Service partners.
    - the end

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BMW iDrive 2 with HDD, no way to update maps?

    Quote Originally Posted by ozi View Post
    i think it would be nice to write (under a sticky) that newest idrive systems (with HDD) CAN NOT BE MANUALY upgraded. car has to be connected to a tester and on-the fly upgraded from German servers. thus, this can be ONLY DONE @ the authorized BMW Service partners.
    - the end
    Hi,

    that's probably not an exact information. I have talked to a dealer today and there are 2 ways to upgrade Navi. The first one is through tester and the second one is DVD and code from the dealer. The code costs about 200 Eur (in both cases) and the dvd costs 25 Eur in addition to the code (if chosen). The same information is included in operation manual to the car. But I don't know, if the code could be used in another car also or if there is some kind of protection. Ivan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •