GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 111
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Garmin Nuvi Problems Discussion

  1. #1
    Sentosa is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Qld
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Garmin Nuvi Problems Discussion

    Just thought I would throw this out there. If one buys a GPS in the Northen Hemisphere which has say, North American maps on it and brings it down to the Southern Hemisphere and puts lets say Australian and New Zealand maps on an SD card, does the satellite recognise the GPS and see the Australian and New Zealand SD card? I know there is one way to find out but haven't gotten around to it yet.

    Decided to do the obvious and yes it does work. Satellite sees the garmin and the SD card and/or vice versa no problems.
    Last edited by Sentosa; 28th May 2010 at 23:52. Reason: answered the query

  2. #2
    Tiger is offline Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 180 Times in 141 Posts

    Re: Different Satellites for different locations?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sentosa View Post
    Just thought I would throw this out there. If one buys a GPS in the Northen Hemisphere which has say, North American maps on it and brings it down to the Southern Hemisphere and puts lets say Australian and New Zealand maps on an SD card, does the satellite recognise the GPS and see the Australian and New Zealand SD card? I know there is one way to find out but haven't gotten around to it yet.

    Decided to do the obvious and yes it does work. Satellite sees the garmin and the SD card and/or vice versa no problems.
    Well. for the record... satellites don't recognize anything and know nothing about any GPS. It is the GPS that receives signals in the form of messages from the various satellites. In the simplest terms, satellites transmit their position and the time of day. Once the GPS can receive satellite position and time information from the transmitted messages of 3-4 different satellites it is able to triagnulate it's own position and that is totally independent of any maps you may have loaded. The purpose of the maps you have loaded is to help YOU make physical/relative sense of where you are currently located. Maps serve as references to your location.

    For exmple: If you had maps of North America and Europe loaded and you were on a boat in the middle of the Atlantic, your GPS would show you located the middle of the ocean (empty blue space) and your loaded maps would be of no value except to let your know where you are relative to them.

  3. #3
    Tuziukas is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 33 Times in 2 Posts

    Garmin PIN code remove

    Hello, i want to know, it is posible unlock garmin pin code?where i can find software?
    pierre likes this.

  4. #4
    sparkee is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How do I get an image on an sd card?

    I found an .img map and now how do I put it on the sd card? ... I have it in a garmin folder I made on the sd card and the file is named gmapsupp.img... do I need another file or anything?

  5. #5
    dexex is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How do I get an image on an sd card?

    If the maps are unlocked, you don't need anything else! If not, you need another file called "gmapsupp.unl" that contains the unlock code for your map. Search on google for "garmin jetmouse keygen"! It's easy to use! Hope it helps!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    What wil happen... If I update firmware by

    What wil happen...

    If I update firmware with updater by change gupdate.gcd to gupdate.rgn

  7. #7
    HaTeVe is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What wil happen... If I update firmware by

    Please try and let us know.

  8. #8
    denniz94's Avatar
    denniz94 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 199 Times in 13 Posts

    [solved] can somebody help me

    can anyone help me with with speedcameras i did this but it show the speedcameras but its quiet, it dont alarm me, can anybody help me ,
    Last edited by Airion; 10th August 2010 at 05:20.

  9. #9
    wally1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: can somebody help me

    Quote Originally Posted by denniz94 View Post
    can anyone help me with with speedcameras i did this but it show the speedcameras but its quiet, it dont alarm me, can anybody help me ,
    Hi denniz94
    If your Garmin device has all the speed cameras loaded as per instructions you must check that your device is set to alert you, go into settings and depending on your device turn on alarms for alert once (single tone) or continuous tone.
    Since you have not mentioned what device you have I can't be more specific but try clicking on the settings (spanner) and maybe find Proximity Alarms and make sure they are ticked.

    Hope I helped

  10. #10
    Sniper's Avatar
    Sniper is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question POI visibility on map

    I'm reffering to the Tracks4Africa map.In Mapsource POI's like tented camps,fishing spots,gravel sections are all visible.After transfer of the map to my unit none of these symbols are visible on the unit.What is the reason for this? Thanks

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •