Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 1 Post

    GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    I was able to swap maps for the Garmin N. America iPhone app WITHOUT JAILBREAK.. All what you have to do is to buy the ORIGINAL program and then replace the gmapprom.img file (must use a US iTunes account only to be able to find the Garmin software)....

    1- Garmin USA
    2- Garmin N. America (this version is what I bought)
    3- Garmin UK/Ireland






























    The file replacement is easy. All what you have to do is the following steps:

    1- Download the iExplorer from here.

    2- Quit Garmin App.

    3- Open iExplorer (make sure to view the hidden files option from iExplorer).

    4- Navigate to this path.
    Devices > (your name) iPhone > Apps > N. America > Garmin-nav.app > storage-na > .System

    5- Replace the (gmapprom.img) and (gmap3d.img) with the desired map of your choice. The JCV file is located in:
    Devices > (your name) iPhone > Apps > N. America > Garmin-nav.app > storage-na > .System > JCV

    6- Done :egdance:
    qrumba, alamel, KikyK and 2 others like this.

  2. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to EZname For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    tp2168 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 23 Times in 9 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    I can now use unlocked Mexico maps, In my IPhone.
    Thanks

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Does it work with cellular data turned off (meaning a data plan is not required)?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Can't show Chinese on the Map but good for UI

    GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!-399700_1757896324676_1757047131_890097_1020453399_n.jpg

  6. #5
    janfloris is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Do you have to unlock the maps with Jetmouse first? Where do you get the unit ID on the iPhone?

  7. #6
    Kor@l's Avatar
    Kor@l is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,975
    Thanks
    356
    Thanked 5,762 Times in 438 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Use unlocked maps, or unlock with the tools the one you have and just copy/paste

  8. #7
    captainFish is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ottungen, Brno
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Thanks for posting. Is there yet any support for Android, and in such case, how can one install Garmin NT on it?

  9. #8
    janfloris is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Quote Originally Posted by Kor@l View Post
    Use unlocked maps, or unlock with the tools the one you have and just copy/paste
    I was just wondering what unit id I must use...
    Would you be able to get the unit id of the iphone from mapsource like you do with the othe normal gps devices?

  10. #9
    naser010 is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 26 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    Quote Originally Posted by janfloris View Post
    I was just wondering what unit id I must use...
    Would you be able to get the unit id of the iphone from mapsource like you do with the othe normal gps devices?

    to make it clear, use maps unlocked with "Fast IMG unlocker" which you will find in this forum,
    so you just copy and past, no jetmouse no ID ...etc.

  11. #10
    captainFish is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ottungen, Brno
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: GARMIN on your iPhone... With ANY maps!

    What about Android, is Garmin maps supported to work on Google's OS?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •