GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 173
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: MapSource

  1. #1
    SmokyMtnz's Avatar
    SmokyMtnz is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    MapSource

    Hi,

    I download my waypoints (favorites) from my unit using MapSource. I then make a few changes to the name or address. I upload the waypoints and everything on the GPS is doubled. If I make more changes in MapSource, then upload again, it triples everything. I would hope it would overwrite the old information.

    Does anyone have a solution to my problem?

    Thanks!

    Bob
    shahfiee25 likes this.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to SmokyMtnz For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Tiger is offline Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 180 Times in 141 Posts

    Re: MapSource Waypoints (Favorites) Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokyMtnz View Post
    Hi,

    I download my waypoints (favorites) from my unit using MapSource. I then make a few changes to the name or address. I upload the waypoints and everything on the GPS is doubled. If I make more changes in MapSource, then upload again, it triples everything. I would hope it would overwrite the old information.

    Does anyone have a solution to my problem?

    Thanks!

    Bob
    That's just the way things work these days. Some folks prefer it to operated that way and some don't.
    The only solution to avoid the duplicates is to manually delete them from the GPS before re-loading them.

  4. #3
    SmokyMtnz's Avatar
    SmokyMtnz is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MapSource Waypoints (Favorites) Problem

    Thank you Tiger for the information. Does anyone know of any software that I can use instead of MapSource?

    Bob

  5. #4
    Tiger is offline Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 180 Times in 141 Posts

    Re: MapSource Waypoints (Favorites) Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by SmokyMtnz View Post
    Thank you Tiger for the information. Does anyone know of any software that I can use instead of MapSource?

    Bob
    Take a look at this one for PIO creation/editing/management. It's very nice.

    http://turboccc.wikispaces.com/Extra_POI_Editor

  6. #5
    SmokyMtnz's Avatar
    SmokyMtnz is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MapSource Waypoints (Favorites) Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    Take a look at this one for PIO creation/editing/management. It's very nice.

    http://turboccc.wikispaces.com/Extra_POI_Editor
    Looks nice. I'll give it a try. Thanks!

    Bob

  7. #6
    sparkee is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What version Mapsource can i use?

    Can I dl the newest update and just run the msi to install along with the training program?
    Last edited by sparkee; 17th May 2010 at 15:00.

  8. #7
    x-trail is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: What version Mapsource can i use?

    Quote Originally Posted by sparkee View Post
    Can I dl the newest update and just run the msi to install along with the training program?
    Don't do it just yet.
    I installed version 6.16.1 yesterday, and used the new patched version of it.
    Everything seems to work fine EXCEPT the CNEuropeNT 2011.1 "looks" compressed (left and right) on the screen.
    When I send the map to my gps, it looks and works fine, but on the pc screen looks compressed!!!
    I've checked with others and they have the same "appearance" problem. (both vista and xp)

    You can dl 6.15.11 from here: http://rapidshare.com/files/387646562/MSource_61511.rar

    and the patched version of mapsource.exe from here: http://rapidshare.com/files/368305484/mapS_special.rar

    Using 6.15.11, I have no "appearance" problems.
    Maybe its a problem with patched 6.16.1 and somebody will fix it in the future

  9. #8
    HaTeVe is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What version Mapsource can i use?

    Use Ctrl-Alt-a to change the projection angle of the map. It depends on what part of the map you are using; more north or more south.

  10. #9
    Morph3R is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What version Mapsource can i use?

    Hi, where did you get patched 6.16.1 executable?

  11. #10
    x-trail is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: What version Mapsource can i use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Morph3R View Post
    Hi, where did you get patched 6.16.1 executable?

    Mapsource 6.16.1 patched
    is here: http://rapidshare.com/files/38952754...61_Patched.rar

    Now you can unlock and view in Mapsource the maps, using Jetmouse KeyGen1.5
    (If you see a map in Mapsource "compressed", Use Ctrl-Alt-A to change the projection angle of that map only.)
    THANKS A LOT HaTeVe, CNEUNT 2011.1 is OK now (36 degrees)

    For old Garmins (like 60csx, nuvi 205w etc) the map is sent from Mapsource to the Garmin Unlocked.

    For newer devices ( with new firmwares) maybe the maps are still locked on the devices (nuvi 1xxx, Oregon, Colorado, etc)
    You have to unlock the gmapsupp.img which is sent to your device, using the "alternative unlocker" from here:
    http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...=2801#post2801
    and after it's unlocked there, copy it back to your Garmin device.

    For newer devices, If you want to create unlocked mapsets using GmapTool,
    FIRST from Mapsource send each map to your device, (your device finds them locked)
    THEN unlock each map using the "alternative unlocker" as above,
    and FINALY put all your unlocked, by now, maps in GmapTool and create your unlocked mapset!
    Last edited by x-trail; 20th May 2010 at 14:34.

Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •