Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: GPSMAP 60CS/60CSx

  1. #1
    shausha is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    GPSMAP 60CS/60CSx

    Hi there - I've been given a GPSMAP 60Cx to play with to see if I like it and if so to then purchase.

    It has nothing on it / with it so I've grabbed a map from here (Topo Map) to test but no matter how small a mapset I try to install I always get the following (sizes vary depending on how much of the map is selected).

    The map set is approximately 1.3Mb but only 941.7Mb is available in the destination.
    Please select fewer maps and try again.

    I've taken the SD card out and formatted it (as basic FAT) and written files to / from it with no problems via my SD reader and can confirm that there is 941.7Mb available.

    Any suggestions as to how I get mapsource to install these - or is there another way I can install without using Mapsuck?

  2. #2
    shausha is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    Anybody help with this one please?

  3. #3
    TCIII is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    What size is your card?........you can make the map any size you want with MS.....it does not make sense to me.....something is wrong somewhere....use your card reader to load the map directly to the card and place in a folder named garmin
    Last edited by TCIII; 27th May 2010 at 16:21.

  4. #4
    shausha is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    The card is a 1Gb card.

    Tried others I have and it's made no difference. Gave up in the end and used img2gps to transfer the whole area rather than the subset I was trying for.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    cuge is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 61 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    send the .img to your hd and after move it manually to the garmin folder of sd.

  6. #6
    shausha is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    Quote Originally Posted by cuge View Post
    send the .img to your hd and after move it manually to the garmin folder of sd.
    Except that I can't see how to do that.

    If I plug in a USB key that option is available but I still get the same error message.

  7. #7
    Hirvitie is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    Quote Originally Posted by shausha View Post
    Except that I can't see how to do that.

    If I plug in a USB key that option is available but I still get the same error message.
    You have a bad mapset! If you interesting it is have wrong tdb-subfile. Use MapSetToolKit for right install map in Mapsource.

  8. #8
    shausha is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Install Maps

    Quote Originally Posted by Hirvitie View Post
    You have a bad mapset! If you interesting it is have wrong tdb-subfile. Use MapSetToolKit for right install map in Mapsource.
    I can't pretend to understand what you said there but I have tried using MapSetToolkit before and it's made no difference.

  9. #9
    redman2010 is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Why do I see two firmware version numbers displayed on my 60csx? Can I use 4gb micro?

    Why do I see two firmware version numbers displayed on my 60csx?

    mine shows:

    Software Version 4.0
    GPS SW Version 3.0s

    also, can I use 4gb micro sd cards? (or larger) what is the maximimum?

    and lastly - i heard that with some new firmware upgrades by garmin they are blocking our ability to use the "cracked" version of mapsource - is this the case with the 60csx? should I just no upgrade the firmware ever?

    THANKS ALL

  10. #10
    tli's Avatar
    tli
    tli is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why do I see two firmware version numbers displayed on my 60csx?

    The 'Software' is for your Garmin unit's operating system, user interface, POI management, map management, and routing calculations.

    The 'GPS SW' is for the GPS satellite system signal processing, tracking, acquisition, time sync operations and position calculations.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •