Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 44

Thread: zūmo 660

  1. #31
    rajvosa's Avatar
    rajvosa is offline Major
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 1,208 Times in 316 Posts

    Re: Garmin zumo 660


    Not need to write thanks .... just CLICK Thanks or Like or add reputation

  2. #32
    spoon1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Garmin zumo 660

    GARMIN ADDITIONS FILES (ASR, G2S, DB, 3D..) can i put every those into my garmin zumo 660 ? or there are some that i can't put into it ?
    thanks

  3. #33
    rajvosa's Avatar
    rajvosa is offline Major
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 1,208 Times in 316 Posts

    Re: Garmin zumo 660

    Read the manual for your device

    Perhaps you first read what your nüvi supports
    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=15000

    Your device does not support: VOICE COMMAND - ASR Folder, myTrends.............................

    Of course, you can all copy if you want
    Last edited by rajvosa; 26th December 2012 at 18:57.

    Not need to write thanks .... just CLICK Thanks or Like or add reputation

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to rajvosa For This Useful Post:


  5. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Garmin zumo 660

    Please allow me to make a small advert for a web site where you can make motorcycle route planning and transfer direct to your Garmin zumo 660 (and other garmin/tomtom/Navigon devices also). On www.tourstart.org is used Google maps, and then when making a route, you transfer to your Garmin, and the exact same route will appear and be ready to ride. So when you got your map installed on your 660, then you can plan and store your motorcycle routes on Tourstart, and also find inspiration for a new ride.

  6. #35
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Adding North America to Zumo 660 Europe

    After updating my Zumo 660LM with Garmin Express, to "CN Europe NT 2013.40" and "CN Europe NT 2013.40 3D", the maps, because of their sizes were auto installed and split between my internal memory and my 8Gb SD
    card in the following way.

    Internal memory:

    FILE SIZE
    Garmin/GMAP3D.IMG 633,600 KB
    Garmin/gmap3d.sum 1 KB
    Garmin/gmap3d1.img 574,432 KB
    Garmin/gmapbmap.img 49,808 KB
    Garmin/gmapbmap.sum 1 KB
    Garmin/gmapprom.sum 1 KB
    Garmin/gmapprom.unl 1 KB
    Garmin/GMAPTZ.IMG 584 KB
    Garmin/gmaptz.sum 1 KB

    SD card:

    FILE SIZE
    Garmin/gmappupdate.gsd 0 KB
    Garmin/gmapsup1.gma 3 KB
    Garmin/gmapsup1.img 2,974,528 KB
    Garmin/gmapsup1.unl 1 KB

    I would like to add the "CN North America NT 2013.40" map for a proposed road trip next month.
    My question is, where do I place the unlocked ".img" files on my SD card so I don't overwrite the Europe ones.
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

  7. #36
    3490lmt is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 166 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Adding North America to Zumo 660 Europe

    Its a little difficult with the Zumo 660, but u are lucky, i have done it before

    First of all, MAKE A COMPLETE BACKUP OF THE DEVICE AND SD CARD !!!
    Update the device with Garmin Webupdater program. (free)
    To have enough memory, you may have to delete some old files.
    Delete the old Europe 3d map, I guess its the small gmap3d1.img 574,432 KB.
    Just try you can allways put it back, if you have made a backup.
    You can check if your maps and 3d maps are working in the menu MAP INFO on the device.
    Delete all the Voice files (.vpm) you dont need in voice folder on the device.
    Voices can be restored from your backup or via Garmin Webupdater.
    If you have more than one .JCV file in JCV folder, you can also delete the old one.
    The JCV file you need to keep for NT CN Europe 2013.40 (Zumo 660) is D2504110A.JCV
    You should now have plenty of free Space on the device

    Now for updating:

    You need 3 files for NA 2013.40:
    gmapprom.img/gmapsupp.img 1,83 GB (unlocked)
    gmap3d.img 193 MB (unlocked)
    D3060090A.jcv 756 MB

    First copy the gmapprom.img/gmapsupp.img 1,83 GB (unlocked) to Garmin folder (device).
    Rename the file to gmapprom.img

    The main problem i had was, the Sumo 660 will only accept 1(one) 3d map.
    Maybe its because the devices i tried, was all Zumo 660 Harley Davidson edition.
    But i solved this by renaming North America 3d map to gmapsup1.img on SD Card,
    and keep the Europe gmap3d.img on the device.
    In your case, you allready have a gmapsup1.img on SD!!
    So try renaming the NA 3d map to gmapsupp.img on SD or internal memory.

    Now copy the D3060090A.jcv 756 MB to Garmin/jcv folder on device.
    If you dont have enough Space left on device, just create a JCV folder in SD/Garmin.
    SD/Garmin/JCV folder can also have your Europe D2504110A.JCV if you need more Space on device.

    Power up the device, check map info menu, to make sure all maps are activated (left side of menu)
    Try to create a route in North America, that include several highways.
    Then simulate the trip and check that junction view is working.

    Now you are all done.

  8. #37
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adding North America to Zumo 660 Europe

    Hi. 3490lmt
    Back ups already done, I wouldn't go anywhere without them, device software is always up to date.
    After checking the file dates, you are right, the gmap3d1.img 574,432 KB file is the old 2013.20 map, so that's going.
    I had already deleted all the non English .vpm files to free up space when I updated the map the last time, so no problem there.
    I had already moved the JCV folder to the SD card for the same reason as above, which contains the D2504110A.jvc, so no problem adding the D3060090A.jcv.
    So I will now go ahead with the rest of your advice, and thanks.
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

  9. #38
    3490lmt is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 166 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Adding North America to Zumo 660 Europe

    Hello Macapaca.

    No need to write thanks, just hit the thanks and/or reputation button,
    if you like my advice.

    Feel free to write again, if you have any other problems with the Zumo 660
    Could you please tell me, if you have the Roadtech Harley Davidson version or not ?
    Also i would like to know, if this advice is working (when you have finished updating)

    Good luck and happy Holiday.

  10. #39
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Zumo 660 - No language guide icon

    In a lot of Youtube reviews of my garmin Zumo 660 it shows in Tools page2 an icon of a book name Language Guide.

    On checking my 660, I have no language guide icon.

    I have checked the Garmin folder on the internal memory and it has a folder named "LEX_PKG" where the dictionaries are stored, but it is only 702Kb in size and states in the "lex_pkg.ver" file "Garmin Language Guide sample version 2.00" so I would have thought the icon should be present with a working sample. All languages and text are still installed and Iv'e done a hard reset.
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

  11. #40
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zumo 660 - No language guide icon

    I have just been contacted by Garmin, who told me that the Language Guide is an option and can be downloaded from their site for compatible devices.
    I have just checked their website, and guess what, my Zumo 660 that has the sample guide installed by Garmin from new is not a compatible device and I cannot install it.
    Who the hell is in charge at Garmin, cause I want to send them a message, I should have stuck to TomTom, at least I could add anything I wanted.
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •