GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56

Thread: nüvi 660

  1. #1
    oarneer is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    nüvi 660

    Hi there,
    I have a Garmin nuvi 660, software v.2.30. Have anyone upgraded maps for this version?
    I need both upgraded maps and map over greece. Can anyone point me in the right direction for where to find the right maps for my Garmin?
    or do I also need to install new software version? I have a 2gb SD card i hope can be useful.

    Thanks.

    EDIT:
    All members that use this device must know that you can use only maps(not SD) <2GB. Dont try to update with a map bigger than 2GB, you will not see it in your Device.
    Read here
    GARMIN FAQ
    Last edited by Kor@l; 26th July 2011 at 19:20. Reason: Updated

  2. #2
    imlright is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Which map to use with Garmin nuvi 660?


  3. #3
    Rambeaudoin is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Nuvi tweaks

    Hi all,

    Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Nuvi 660 to show the map after power up without having to touch the "Where to go" on the display? My 765 T does it right out of the box, any tweaks or suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Rambeaudoin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing choice of Country (for the route)

    I’m using Garmin nűvi 660. Bought it in 2008 with North American maps. Back then I also installed couple of European countries and filled the internal memory.

    Now I decided to install CN North America 2011 and CN Europe 2011. I will have to buy the SDHC card in order to fit both, so as my first step I’ve installed just American maps.
    I downloaded “Garmin CN NA 2011.1” with unlocked image. The files included were:
    • D2339010.JCV (48,223 KB)
    • gmap3d.img (154,816 KB)
    • gmapprom.img (1,286,560 KB)

    From the unit, I removed and saved on my PC:
    • gmapprom.img
    • gmapsupp.img
    • gmapbmap.img
    • GUPDATE.GCD

    Next step – I copied just gmapprom.img into the GPS unit. All US, Canadian and Mexican maps have been installed – I can see details on the GPS screen.

    Now I tried to program the rout. It went directly to the state entry, skipping the country! Since I have US, Canada and Mexico installed it should ask for the country – but it does not!

    How can that be fixed?

  5. #5
    wally1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Missing choice of Country (for the route)

    Quote Originally Posted by PolishPrince View Post
    I’m using Garmin nűvi 660. Bought it in 2008 with North American maps. Back then I also installed couple of European countries and filled the internal memory.

    Now I decided to install CN North America 2011 and CN Europe 2011. I will have to buy the SDHC card in order to fit both, so as my first step I’ve installed just American maps.
    I downloaded “Garmin CN NA 2011.1” with unlocked image. The files included were:
    • D2339010.JCV (48,223 KB)
    • gmap3d.img (154,816 KB)
    • gmapprom.img (1,286,560 KB)

    From the unit, I removed and saved on my PC:
    • gmapprom.img
    • gmapsupp.img
    • gmapbmap.img
    • GUPDATE.GCD

    Next step – I copied just gmapprom.img into the GPS unit. All US, Canadian and Mexican maps have been installed – I can see details on the GPS screen.

    Now I tried to program the rout. It went directly to the state entry, skipping the country! Since I have US, Canada and Mexico installed it should ask for the country – but it does not!

    How can that be fixed?

    Hi PolishPrince

    You should put back the gmapbmap as it's the world base map, also the JCV is not needed as looking at the specs for your device Junction view is not supported

    Hope I helped
    Last edited by wally1; 30th October 2010 at 07:45.

  6. #6
    patoalexis38 is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Garmin Nuvi 660 and 3D & JCV

    Hi

    I would like to know if someone get to work 3D&JVC on Nuvi 660 and how :
    where to place the file (as detail as possible)

    many thanks

  7. #7
    dragao78 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Garmin Nuvi 660 and 3D & JCV

    Same question to me i have a nuvi 660 it is possible to get this working?

  8. #8
    tomasz100 is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Garmin Nuvi 660 and 3D & JCV

    Quote Originally Posted by dragao78 View Post
    Same question to me i have a nuvi 660 it is possible to get this working?
    Why people are so lazy. Can U read information on Garmin websie ? Nuvi 660 is too old, so 3D and JCV function are unavailalbe

  9. #9
    dragao78 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Garmin Nuvi 660 and 3D & JCV

    Who are you calling lazy do i now you from anywere? If i am asking and you dont want to respond be my guest but you dont have to be rude.

  10. #10
    patoalexis38 is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    nüvi 660

    Hi

    I would like to know if there is unofficial firmware for nuvi 660?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •