Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 200
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: nüvi 1490/1490T/1490TV/1490LMT

  1. #1
    alfred8 is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    nüvi 1490/1490T/1490TV/1490LMT

    Just bought a Garmin 1490T and wanted to load 2011.10 maps into main memory. Have to delete existing map to free up space but cannot see any map files (gmapprom) listed on Nuvi unit to delete.
    I have loaded map to sd card but would like to put map into main memory of Nuvi. Can anyone tell me why I cannot see any map.img files listed in internal memory of the Nuvi?

  2. #2
    DracUK is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: garmin 1490T internal maps

    The maps are in a HIDDEN FOLDER called System.You have to enable view hidden files and hidden system files in Windows.

    DracUK

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to DracUK For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    alfred8 is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: garmin 1490T internal maps

    Thanks DracJK for reply but this does not solve problem. I have "show hidden files" enabled in Windows7 but there is no SYSTEM folder in Nuvi1490T memory. Althigh Garmin.xml does say that gmapprom.img is in the SYSTEM path, the System folder is not there. I downloaded and installed latest Garmin map from Garmin this morning (version 2011.10) onto main momory but I still don't see it anywhere on the unit. This is a minor mystery as I can put future updates onto the mini-SD card but I am wondering if this situation is the result of Garmin trying to prevent messing around with their units.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Is it possoble to have two different maps installed at the same SD-card? My first map is named: GMAPSUPP.IMG

    What name should map 2 have? I've tried GMAPSUP2.IMG but it doesn't work. The model is a 1490T.

  6. #5
    cuius is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Dowmnload the two maps as one image file from Mapsource, and then using the "map info" tab on the nuvi you can change between the two - I'm currently running CNEU & my local Topo

  7. #6
    Tiger is online now Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    938
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 131 Times in 109 Posts

    Re: Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Quote Originally Posted by essge View Post
    Is it possoble to have two different maps installed at the same SD-card? My first map is named: GMAPSUPP.IMG

    What name should map 2 have? I've tried GMAPSUP2.IMG but it doesn't work. The model is a 1490T.
    If you have maps only as gmapsupp.img files....

    You can use the gmaptool.exe to join them into a single gmapsupp.img file and they will still both show up in your gps as individually selectable maps. You can join quite a few img files before running into limits onn the files size or max number of map segments.

    If you only have 2 gmapsupp.img files you can put one on SD and the other in the GPS (if it will fit).

  8. #7
    Sentosa is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Qld
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Tiger

    Are you saying that we can put a gmapsupp file in the unit as well as the existing gmapprom (if it will fit).

    And another question. I have two units, a nuvi 260 and a nuvi 660. Can I swap out the gmapprom files between the two units.

  9. #8
    Tiger is online now Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    938
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 131 Times in 109 Posts

    Re: Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sentosa View Post
    Tiger

    Are you saying that we can put a gmapsupp file in the unit as well as the existing gmapprom (if it will fit).

    And another question. I have two units, a nuvi 260 and a nuvi 660. Can I swap out the gmapprom files between the two units.
    (1) Most definitely you can put a gmapsupp.img in the GPS as well as SD card (either place or both is ok for a max of 2)

    (2) You can use the same gmapprom.img in any GPS provided it will fit. If that gmapprom.img file is "unlocked" it will simply work. If it is a "locked" gmapprom.img you will have to generate a unique unlock code for each other GPS you wish to use the IMG file with. I suggest sticking with "unlocked" img files because It may be VERY difficult (perhaps impossible) to generate a working unlock code with some of the new maps and new model GPS with the keygens that are available today. Your 260 and 660 are no problem.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    If you have maps only as gmapsupp.img files....

    You can use the gmaptool.exe to join them into a single gmapsupp.img file and they will still both show up in your gps as individually selectable maps. You can join quite a few img files before running into limits onn the files size or max number of map segments.

    If you only have 2 gmapsupp.img files you can put one on SD and the other in the GPS (if it will fit).
    Thank you very much. The problem is solved with gmaptool.
    If I like to use your second proposal, where in the GPS file structure should the second gmapsupp.img file be put?

  11. #10
    Tiger is online now Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    938
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 131 Times in 109 Posts

    Re: Two maps at the same SD-card?

    Quote Originally Posted by essge View Post
    Thank you very much. The problem is solved with gmaptool.
    If I like to use your second proposal, where in the GPS file structure should the second gmapsupp.img file be put?
    If you put a gmapsupp.img in IN the gps it goes in the same folder as your pre-installed maps (gmapprom.img) and your basemap (gmapbmap.img). That is typically in the Garmin folder of your GPS. In some of the very new GPS models it may be in a hidden ".system" folders. Bottom line is... it goes in the gps folder where you find your other maps.

Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •