GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: nüvi 1250

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    nüvi 1250

    Hi, I'm new here and just started using a GPS. I need help.. I don't know what to do.

    I bought a Garmin Nuvi 1250 and want to put new maps in it. The GPS didn't have a micro SD in it when I bought it. So I'm trying to use a 128MB micro SD (which I have an extra memory card at home) to put the map on. I reformatted the memory card in FAT and insert the gmapsupp.img in it. When I insert the SD card in Garmin Nuvi 1250, nothing happened. It just runs normally. Can you guys tell me what I'm doing wrong? My friend told me to just insert the memory card after copy pasting the new gmapsupp.img.


    NOTE: When I use a USB cable to check Garmin in my PC, it showed the Garmin drive and the memory card drive. So basically it can detect the memory card.

    Any help will be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    wp3gi is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 2 Posts

    re: nüvi 1250

    Make sure you create a folder called "Map" on the SD Card and put your gmapsupp.img file there. I believe that on the 1xxx series you can name that file anything you want as long as it ends in .img
    ziotom likes this.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to wp3gi For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    bjjfc's Avatar
    bjjfc is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,334
    Thanks
    327
    Thanked 6,528 Times in 359 Posts

    re: nüvi 1250

    Quote Originally Posted by wp3gi View Post
    Make sure you create a folder called "Map" on the SD Card
    if still nothing happen, try to rename the folder to Garmin

  5. #4
    wolfjohny is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Renaming maps

    Hello all.


    I need help.

    I have Nuvi 1250 and I successfully transfer maps from PC to device using MapSource.
    I can merge many maps with MapSource also, but what I need is different maps on single memory card.

    I have read on this forum and many others that there is max of 3 maps per device with names: GMAPSUPP.img, GMAPSUP2.img, GMAPPROM.img

    But my device only recognizes the GMAPSUPP.img and not other two.

    Any ideas why. To make it more clear I will describe what am I doing.


    Install maps in MapSource, unlock them with keygenerator, transfer to device.

    Now I have on my device(my device's memory card) folder "J:\Garmin\gmapsupp.img

    I rename it to Gmapsup2.img and transfer another map from MapSource.

    Now I have 2 maps on my device.
    1. Gmapsupp.img
    2. Gmapsup2.img


    And when I power it up it only shows me the Gmapsupp.img map... :\ Any ideas?


    2. Question

    I have original Adria Route map on SD card and there are 2 files.

    gmapsupp.img
    gmapsupp.unl

    UNL is unlock code I guess.

    So I follow the instruction on how to unlock maps with keygen and creating UNL files, but it won't work.

    What I did is next.

    I have transfered gmapsupp.img to another SD and created new UNL file with different code created with keygen and it doesn't work.

    It is not clear to me, how did they make the UNL file that works on every device?

    I tested on Nuvi 1250 and Nuvi 1350, it works on both!


    Thank you

  6. #5
    Kor@l's Avatar
    Kor@l is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,975
    Thanks
    356
    Thanked 6,001 Times in 442 Posts

    Re: Renaming maps

    First of all you have a Nuvi 1250, this devices suport maps with diferent names,
    if you use gmapsupp.img in SD you can use only this one, you can change the name EXAMPLE: from gmapsupp.img to Europa.img for europe maps and Northamerica.img for the second one, in new N1000/2000/3000 serie you have to create a folder called "map" in the SD root and put the Europa.img & Northamerica.img inside, this way your garmin will see both maps. The same in device HDD, you can put only gmapprom.img inside .System folder and for other maps you must create a "Map" folder in the HDD root.

    If says that map is lockd use the unlock tool to unlock the maps, new devices have GMA protection, and maps can't be unlocked with Jetmouse and .UNL file.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Nuvi 1250 problem

    Hi,
    I have nuvi 1250 and I try to put custom route created in MapSource, after transfering the route onto device it is in the gpx folder on device and have exstension .gpx. My problem is that I can not find that route anywhere on the menu.
    So if anyone knows how to resolve this please share.
    Thanks in advance.

  8. #7
    ionutzdan02 is offline Master Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bibbiena, Italy
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts

    Re: Nuvi 1250 problem

    hi guys .esterday i updated the maps on my 1250 garmin and it works winth 2012.30..but i still have the original old version from 2010 and i want to delete...i conected the gps to the pc but it doesnt show me the old one..i turned the hidden files on but still nothing any ideas where to fing the gmapprom?? thnx

  9. #8
    Tiger is offline Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 180 Times in 141 Posts

    Re: Nuvi 1250 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ionutzdan02 View Post
    hi guys .esterday i updated the maps on my 1250 garmin and it works winth 2012.30..but i still have the original old version from 2010 and i want to delete...i conected the gps to the pc but it doesnt show me the old one..i turned the hidden files on but still nothing any ideas where to fing the gmapprom?? thnx
    x:\.system\gmapprom.img <- your old maps
    x:\Map\????.img <- they could be here under a different name (any name is possible) if you had put them there.

    turn on ... show hidden and system files and you should see the directory structure and the files.

    Do you see the NEW map from a PC? If so, where, and what is it's name ?
    Last edited by Tiger; 12th November 2011 at 12:38.

  10. #9
    ionutzdan02 is offline Master Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bibbiena, Italy
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts

    Re: Nuvi 1250 problem

    ok i turned on the hidden files and no gmapprom...the new file created by mapsource si called MAP and inside there is a file called gmapsupp.img (that is the 2012.30 version) but still no gmapprom.i have a windows xp sistem..any ideas???

  11. #10
    ionutzdan02 is offline Master Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bibbiena, Italy
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts

    Re: Nuvi 1250 problem

    k got it....from the menu of unhidden files i unselected the option HIDE PROTECTED FILE SYSTEM !!! and bingo i found the .system file thnx a lot !!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •