Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Hi, i have a wayway gps, but i cant seemed to use the gpsscan_debug. i load it to the GPS and the error msg --- cant run. is not a win 32 application. please help!

  2. #12
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 410 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Quote Originally Posted by meipin86 View Post
    Hi, i have a wayway gps, but i cant seemed to use the gpsscan_debug. i load it to the GPS and the error msg --- cant run. is not a win 32 application. please help!
    It would seem that you are trying to run gpsscan_debug.exe on your PC. That won't work. You need to copy the gpsscan_debug.exe to your sd card and execute it with wince. To do that you will have to use cecmd, explorer, or have a gps menuing system that allows you to modify the navigation path. Since wince is slow, it will take a while to go through all combinations of ports and baudrates, so be patient, it will take a few minutes for the port and baudrate information to be displayed on the screen

  3. #13
    aussiepaul is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Ok the program told me port 1 and baud 4800
    set it all as such still no satelite signals

  4. #14
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 410 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    [QUOTE=aussiepaul;140004]Ok the program told me port 1 and baud 4800
    set it all as such still no satelite signals[/QUOTE

    The GPS will take a lot longer to find a satellite the first time, because it does no know where on the earth it is located, so it has no idea idea where to look for a satellite signal. Take your gps outside where it has a clear shot at the open sky and leave it for an hour. Then check to see if it has acquired a lock.

    [gps]
    baud="4800"
    port="1"

    This is how the info should appear in your sys.txt.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    hi there, i'm using papago r6100 model. i hv copied the gpsscan_debug.exe to sd card, but the problem is how to use the cecmd? do u i need to download & copy into sd card? pls help. thanks

  6. #16
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 410 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Quote Originally Posted by yykhai View Post
    hi there, i'm using papago r6100 model. i hv copied the gpsscan_debug.exe to sd card, but the problem is how to use the cecmd? do u i need to download & copy into sd card? pls help. thanks
    It's hard to say how to run a file on your particular gps, because they're all different , and different techniques work on different devices. One of the easy ways to get to the wince desktop is to create a text file at the root of your sd card called explorer.atr. In this file you want to type one word "explorer", without the quotes, on the first line, and then save it to the root of your sd card. Now put the sd card in your device and restart it. If your lucky, this process will bring up the wince desktop, and you can start "My Device" to browse to gpsscan_debug.exe and start it. Once you start the file, it could take as long as 5 minutes for it to access your ports and return the information. If that doesn't work, you try something else.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    thanks a lot for the link man.. can you help me how to install it in detail.. i am using wayway Q4033.. i search everything but i dont see CECMD or file manager.. please help me.. thanks

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    I think you need some patience with this app. Takes a minute or two for the data to be revealed.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to fashionever For This Useful Post:


  10. #19
    threeone is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Thanks a bunch... this one works for me.
    Being trying to find out this info for the longest time.

    In case anyone is interested, the Holux GPSmile 61 uses com 1 and 38400 baud rate.

  11. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Does anyone here know what Port and Baud rate does MyVi's inbuilt GPS use?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •