GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: gps is off position

  1. #1
    Advoor is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    gps is off position

    i managed to install 1go8.3 to my doubke din.
    problem is when i navigate somewhere the pin is always off, n usually thinks im a few roads away.
    how can i sort this

  2. #2
    NRT's Avatar
    NRT
    NRT is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 31 Times in 23 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    Quote Originally Posted by Advoor View Post
    i managed to install 1go8.3 to my doubke din.
    problem is when i navigate somewhere the pin is always off, n usually thinks im a few roads away.
    how can i sort this
    What do you mean by pin, the guidance arrow or the little black dot?

  3. #3
    Advoor is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    The arrow that's ment to move as I'm
    moving along the road. The arrow that marks my position.

  4. #4
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    try selecting show gps position rather than position on road, or if thats the way you are doing it try the other way around.

  5. #5
    myway is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    i think a have the same problem. my current position is always about 3 minutes 'late'.
    and often 'lost gps' and then automaticly searching gps and found it.

    do you have the solution?
    Last edited by myway; 27th July 2010 at 15:17.

  6. #6
    madmar57 is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    My gps was working perfectly while i was setting it up with the antena on the dash. When every thing was ok i hid the antenna and now it is a bit slower. You might have the same problem if your antena is not picking up a good signal from the sat.

  7. #7
    domivi is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 37 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    You may add this to your SYS.TXT :

    [gps]
    port=2
    baud=9600
    protocol=nmea

  8. #8
    realbob's Avatar
    realbob is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    YOu need to install the antenna properly. Best thing is on top of dash in the middle of near about 2-3 inch to the front window. Just far enough to avoid heat coming out (air), then all should work fine... Be sure igo detectes the good port and baud rate os your antenna.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    I had a problem with the antenna location myself, I come to find out that if you have glass that is UV resistant to protect the interior of the car the signal gets partially blocked by this glass. I installed the antenna outside the vehicle and haven't had a problem since.

  10. #10
    bazzle is offline Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melb Oz
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 20 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: gps is off position

    Quote Originally Posted by matty538 View Post
    try selecting show gps xxxxx position on road,xxxxx.
    My moneys on this or its set in off road mode. (meant for bush walking etc)

    Bazzle

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •