GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

  1. #1
    misirlou is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    Just bought myself this one .
    I friend of mine says you can install tomtom on there if you have enough internal memory, is that right?Or has anybody has this done?

    I mostly bought this because it has a jack/audio exit for riding with my motorcycle and still can use it normally in my car, the price was a go to
    Anybody else has this (simular) one?

    ciao

    greetings from Belgium



  2. #2
    Bananengourmet is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 17 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    Do you know how much RAM it has and if it supports TMC?

    Actually got a mail from the vendor saying it's got 64 MB RAM only and no TMC support.
    So it may be a problem to software requiring larger amount of RAM like Primo (and TomTom I assume).
    With 128 MB it would have been a great deal but with 64 only ...

    [Edit]: Please, could you go on the windows desktop, click on Control Panel, Memory and make a screenshot of the configuration so we could see the memory being available for the navi soft?
    I've seen devices that use up to 46 MB just for Windows itself leaving poor 20 MB for the software.
    Last edited by Bananengourmet; 16th July 2010 at 12:07.

  3. #3
    misirlou is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    I just bought it yesterday on ebay, so I'll have a look when it arrives.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bananengourmet View Post
    Do you know how much RAM it has and if it supports TMC?

    Actually got a mail from the vendor saying it's got 64 MB RAM only and no TMC support.
    So it may be a problem to software requiring larger amount of RAM like Primo (and TomTom I assume).
    With 128 MB it would have been a great deal but with 64 only ...

    [Edit]: Please, could you go on the windows desktop, click on Control Panel, Memory and make a screenshot of the configuration so we could see the memory being available for the navi soft?
    I've seen devices that use up to 46 MB just for Windows itself leaving poor 20 MB for the software.

  4. #4
    misirlou is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    I found a pc program and site to make routes (for Igo also) on your own with google maps.
    So no need to put tomtom on there anymore for my.

    this guy got tomtom on it.

  5. #5
    Bananengourmet is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 17 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    In the video I could see that evev with TomTom rumming 17 MB are free, that's good. Anyway I am curious about the results from your testing.

  6. #6
    misirlou is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    Got it today and checked it in the system part and it says 64mb sdram and 29mb of that is free.
    Don't know how much tomtom needs.

  7. #7
    bazzle is offline Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melb Oz
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 20 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    You need to go to the TOM TOM forum.
    Actually I think Igo8 is a better programme.

    Bazzle

  8. #8
    misirlou is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    The only thing I have not figured out is how to get the ''time and distance still left from the route'' to get on the main navigation screen while riding...

  9. #9
    bazzle is offline Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melb Oz
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 20 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    Try using this skin: GJ 6.17

    Bazzle

  10. #10
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 418 Times in 91 Posts

    Re: 5inch IGO 8 ★ 2010 MAPS ★ WIN CE 6 ★ 4GB MEMORY

    Quote Originally Posted by misirlou View Post
    Got it today and checked it in the system part and it says 64mb sdram and 29mb of that is free.
    Don't know how much tomtom needs.
    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but WIN CE 6.0 and 64mb of memory is not a good configuration. It doesn't leave enough memory for igo8, or any other graphics intensive navagation app, to run well. You will have compromised graphics, and "out of memory" errors.

    To see what I mean by compromised graphics zoom out to where you can see your entire state(or country)in IGO8. You will find that the screen can not display all the graphics at the same time, so it switches between segments. You will also experience the display of maps at, say, 1500 feet, where some of the roads on the map are blinking off and on, although this is not as predictable. That's because of the segment switching that results from low memory resources. The segment switching also increases the cpu load.

    I made the same mistake earlier this year, and ended up unloading it on ebay. I ended up buying a DragonPearl-tech GPS500, which I like very much. The two very distinct differences in the GPS500 and yours is that the GPS500 actually has 128mb of memory, and it's OS is WIN CE 5.0, so it has gobs of memory to support IGO8 and other graphics intensive nav systems.

    The GPS500 is a bit more expensive, but it's well engineered, and has the 5" screen your looking for. In addition it has been proven to run all of the following software;
    Automapa 6.2;
    Amigo 8.4
    Bercker 8.5.2
    Destinator v.9.1.27.1
    Garmin XT v.5.00.20wp
    Igo8 v.8.3.4.117940
    MapFactor Navigator 9 (Truck)
    Medion GoPal Navigator 5
    Miomap2008 v.1.0
    Navigon v.7.4.0
    Ndrive v.9.2.44
    NoniGPSPlot
    OziExplorer 2
    Sygic v.7.72
    Sygic Mobile Maps 10
    TomTom v.7.910
    Trekking, Mountain Bike....
    ULM, Very Light Aircraft...

    EDIT: Actually, the ebay vendor I purchased my WIN CE 6.0 64mb GPS from knew it was not capable of running IGO8 reliably, so he left the DEM files out of the configuration to lighten load on the OS. Of course, that removed all the topographical graphics.

    I'm going to say this again for emphasis, and I'm really surprised that it is not more commonly known, WIN CE 6.0 and 64mb is not a viable configuration for a graphics intensive GPS.

    Now all you folks with WIN CE 6.0 64mb GPSes FLAME AWAY!!!
    Last edited by dohcacr; 28th July 2010 at 15:59. Reason: additional info added

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to dohcacr For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •