GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

  1. #1
    navman1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Hi

    Currently have iGO 8.3 (dated Nov 2009) in my Navman and all works great. Seen the Primo 1.1 download link (version and software dated early August 2010). I have iGO software on device flash memory with maps, pois etc on sd card. Is it worth changing to Primo 1.1? If so:

    - can I just save, as back up, my flash memory from the Navman
    - format my flash memory
    - install Primo 1.1 to flash memory
    - pop the sd card back in
    - run Primo and it'll pick up the Teleatlas maps and pois I had for the iGO from the sd card

    Is that about it?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    navman1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Oh, and can I just copy the speedcam folder I had for iGo into the installed Primo?

  3. #3
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    I prefer igo 8.3 to the new primo, the only thing i miss from primo is the junction view, but then it doesnt work on every junction.
    You could always make a backup like you say and try primo, if you dont like it go back to igo. You may have to edit your sys txt but im sure you had to do that for igo anyway.

  4. #4
    navman1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Thanks Matty

    Yes, I had the change the screen size in the iGO sys.txt file when first used. Is the software any better in Primo? Maybe a strange question but, purely as an example, I use an internet security suite programme which is branded as version 2010. I had an email from them saying that 2011 version is coming out and it mentions the software changes over the previous version (faster scan times etc). If the iGo software is dated Nov 2009 and the Primo is dated August 2010 are there any software benefits in the newer Primo version (allowing for using the same maps and pois as for iGo)?

    Hope that makes sense

  5. #5
    bazzle is offline Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melb Oz
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 20 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Its like blondes and brunettes

    Ive tried both versions but have gone back to IGO8.3 with GJ17 skin and VW skins.
    Primo a bit easier to use for beginners but I cant see what the real benefits are after using IGO 8.3 suited as above.?

    Bazzle

  6. #6
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Quote Originally Posted by navman1 View Post
    Thanks Matty

    Yes, I had the change the screen size in the iGO sys.txt file when first used. Is the software any better in Primo? Maybe a strange question but, purely as an example, I use an internet security suite programme which is branded as version 2010. I had an email from them saying that 2011 version is coming out and it mentions the software changes over the previous version (faster scan times etc). If the iGo software is dated Nov 2009 and the Primo is dated August 2010 are there any software benefits in the newer Primo version (allowing for using the same maps and pois as for iGo)?

    Hope that makes sense
    The latest primo has green routing but from my limited testing its no faster or slower.
    And its not igo8 its primo so its supposed to be different, ie its not an updated version of igo8.3.
    There is however a newer version of igo8 than the one you are using.

  7. 12th September 2010, 20:09

    Command Sergeant Major

    Reason
    double post

  8. #7
    navman1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Thanks for the reply Bazzle. I'll stick with the iGo I have I think. Out of interest though does the default Primo 1.1 skin show distance and estimated time to destination point on the main map screen(which is missing from the iGo map main screen)?

  9. #8
    navman1 is offline Sergeant First Class
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Thanks Matty

    I have version 8.3.4.117940. What's the latest version (and can you link it please)? I take it I can use same speedcam, maps and pois in the latest version if I just copy them into the new iGo version folders? I notice you mention you use 8.3. Have you tried the latest version yourself?

  10. #9
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    Tried them all mate, I use TomTom day to day, but my backup is iGo8, Primo lasted a couple of days before I changed back.
    The latest version is iGO8 8.3.4.142975 May 11 2010.

  11. #10
    bazzle is offline Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melb Oz
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 20 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: iGo 8.3 or Primo 1.1?

    I use version 152657 23rd May 10 without DA's.
    With GJ17 skin I get all the things you asked about.
    142975 works the same functions too.

    Go here"" Bazzle

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •