Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Navteq and TomTom maps

  1. #1
    doodle1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts

    Navteq and TomTom maps

    Hi,

    I use Primo 2 in Europe. I am not after which is better for coverage etc. I have looked on iGo site and at the specs of units that ship with Primo and they all mention they come with Navteq maps. My question is if iGo devices come with Navteq maps and pois, and any automatic map updates for bought units install the latest Navteq maps, then why do TomTom create maps for iGo devices? I hope that makes sense.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    771
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 1,471 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    Quote Originally Posted by doodle1 View Post
    Hi,

    I use Primo 2 in Europe. I am not after which is better for coverage etc. I have looked on iGo site and at the specs of units that ship with Primo and they all mention they come with Navteq maps. My question is if iGo devices come with Navteq maps and pois, and any automatic map updates for bought units install the latest Navteq maps, then why do TomTom create maps for iGo devices? I hope that makes sense.

    Thanks
    Ok... Navteq and Teleatlas (tomtom) have different coverage in EU or all the world.
    ect. Scandinavia have Teleatlas best coverage.

    You have to look to the size of the different maps, and make your choice.
    And yes you can also mix the maps.

    Have fun.. :-)

  3. #3
    doodle1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    Thanks. But if iGo advertises it uses and ships units with Navteq maps then who do TomTom makes their iGo maps for?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    771
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 1,471 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    Quote Originally Posted by doodle1 View Post
    Thanks. But if iGo advertises it uses and ships units with Navteq maps then who do TomTom makes their iGo maps for?
    Before they use Teleatlas maps, but now are teleatlas owned with tomtom, I think thats the mainground

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 193 Times in 80 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    Quote Originally Posted by ScorpioPirate View Post
    O
    And yes you can also mix the maps.
    Mixing NQ and TT maps isn't good idea ! They aren compatible, problem at border lines, etc. !

    Quote Originally Posted by ScorpioPirate
    Before they use Teleatlas maps, but now are teleatlas owned with tomtom, I think thats the mainground
    They bought TA from 2007-2008 , it's not now, they owned it long time before, they just decided now new policy of name convention and from TA they converted it to TT like one brand for all type of maps they publis..
    Last edited by nosferanosferatuno; 13th April 2012 at 21:54.

  6. #6
    doodle1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    Ah ok - thanks. I don't think I'm putting my questions right. If Igo ship their products with say European Navteq maps and any European map updates you can legally buy for their products are Navteq maps who do TomTom/Teleatlas make their European Igo maps for/sell them to?

  7. #7
    Parker75 is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    Aren't Teleatlas released on Sygic and TomTom devices and not Navteq

  8. #8
    Indrit Zaka is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    I dont see any difference.I have mixed them and no problem.the important is to be ......fbl files

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Indrit Zaka For This Useful Post:


  10. #9
    doodle1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    I always used teleatles maps and pois in the past as they were larger in file size to navteq so i thought they must be better as had more data. however i switched to navteq as apparently their coverage in europe is better and they are only smaller in file size as they are compressed in a different way to teleatlas/tomtom

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Navteq and TomTom maps

    I find they alternate quite well, you could always do a google search.. usually a cure for all my problems!
    If you'd like some gps reviews Tomtom Reviews - All Things GPS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •