GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

  1. #1
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 418 Times in 91 Posts

    Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    GPSScan_debug.exe is a small tool from the Miopocket Tronik utilities. It does seem to run standalone(atleast on a wince gps) and did find the port, baud rate, and protocol of my GPS. So if you need a "tool" to find your gps port, you might want to give GPSScan_debug.exe a try.


  2. The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to dohcacr For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    John Dough is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Thanks do you have a tool for detecting TMC receiver?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to John Dough For This Useful Post:


  5. #3
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 418 Times in 91 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    As a matter of fact, I do. Don't have any experience with it, since I don't have a GPS with TMC, but HERE it is!

    Let me know how it works out for you.

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    I am keen to give this a try, do i just drop it in the iGO8 folder on the SD card, and reinsert the card?

  7. #5
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 418 Times in 91 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Quote Originally Posted by coopv2 View Post
    I am keen to give this a try, do i just drop it in the iGO8 folder on the SD card, and reinsert the card?
    Just put the executable anywhere on your GPS, but you have to be able to start the file. Since I don't know anything about your GPS, I can't tell you how to do that. If you have any file managers like Total Commander, or explorer, you could use one of them. If your able to change your nav path to point at any file, you can use that method to start GPSScan_Debug.exe.

  8. #6
    isragaus's Avatar
    isragaus is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    I have use and can see port and baut rate. but my primo stell can't find gps receiver, on the screen appears "autodetecting gps receiver..."
    Please howcan i do for my problem. Thanks

  9. #7
    kuku_man is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Quote Originally Posted by isragaus View Post
    I have use and can see port and baut rate. but my primo stell can't find gps receiver, on the screen appears "autodetecting gps receiver..."
    Please howcan i do for my problem. Thanks
    Edit your sys.txt file
    Add the following lines if they are not exist

    [gps]
    port=7
    Baud=57600

    update the port and the boud parameters as you find at your device

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Quote Originally Posted by dohcacr View Post
    GPSScan_debug.exe is a small tool from the Miopocket Tronik utilities. It does seem to run standalone(atleast on a wince gps) and did find the port, baud rate, and protocol of my GPS. So if you need a "tool" to find your gps port, you might want to give GPSScan_debug.exe a try.

    Hi,
    can you please be so kind and explain to me why my NAV01 running IGO8 find a satelite in an instance (7-57600) but when running iGo primo on the same GPS, the satelite is not found. And I did try all kinds of GPS set-up possibilities port 4 with boud 4800, 9600, 38400, 57600 and port 7 with boud 4800, 9600, 38400, 57600.
    Also, I did run the GPSScan_Debug.exe and it showed 7 with 57600 but then it said "satelite not found" but iGO8 would work very fast without any problems.
    Please, any help will be very much appreciated.
    Thankk you in advance.
    Best regards, ufo59

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    Hi ufo,

    I had the same problem. just simply erase all data after [gps] in the .sys file. the primo is working fine without these info. if You use both, the igo8 and primo on the same gadget, then just use ; before all the gps data in the .sys file for primo, and erase it if You use igo8. but I'm not sure if the igo8 need as well those info in the sys file. I hope it's help You out.

    Duffy

  12. #10
    dohcacr is offline Lieutenant Colonel
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    959
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 418 Times in 91 Posts

    Re: Find your GPS port, speed, and protocol

    If your GPS is an Insignia NS-NAV01 use the following;
    [gps]
    baud="4800"
    port="7"
    source="nmea"

    This info will not work for an Insignia NS-NAV01c.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 13th November 2011, 01:07

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •