GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

  1. #1
    afierro is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Cool Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    HI, Checking in different posts, I was trying to put a Garmin Mexico map into my DNX5140, but unfortunatelly no many information in how to do it... so I find following:

    DNX5140 have a miniUSB ( back, below to Ipod A/V connectors) , this is a USB port for using to connect to the computer. So if you want to load a new set of maps you have to do:

    1.- Connecto DNX5140 to the computer via a miniUSD-USB cable , most cell phones or cameras use this cable,
    2.-Turn on DNX5140 and press NAV button, at this time " Connection USB detect" appears, then choose "Mass storage Device", you have a mass storage new device in you computer as regular USB Drive
    3.-looks for "Garmin" folder and copy map there.
    4.-That“s it

    obs:

    -As usual in all garmin devices you need unl file with 25 code map key in garmin folder
    -if you want to add new map, following name order used by garmin systems, next map have to be : "gmapsupp.img" file , so rename your map to this name , in order to have "gmapgmap.img" = base map, "gmapprom.img"= original set of maps , and "gmapsupp.img" = map added , I tried to add other map as "mapsup2.img" but not success, if anyone find how to put a fourth map please let me know.

    Greetings from Mexico

  2. #2
    pajser's Avatar
    pajser is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    CROATIA,SPLIT
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    i have another model of kenwood,dnx-7200,and have several maps in one "gmapsupp.img" file!HOW???? I put it over Map source program,just sign maps you want too use and send to device,check REMOVABLE "X" (leter for kenwood) and wait to transfer to device,but maps must be unlocked before in mapsource,with all.bat,or unlock wizard and keygen!

  3. #3
    bhamilton is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    I've got a DNX7140 that I'm trying to update via the rear mini-USB. I have most current Garmin drivers installed on my laptop. When I connect the HU to my Laptop, I choose mass storage mode on the HU, and my laptop comes up with 2 removeable drives - F and G. When I try to open G, it says there is no disk in the device. When I try to open F, it hangs for a while and then says that either there is no disk in the device or that I need to format the disk in order to use it. Can somebody please help me?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    hi. i have a problem with kenwood dnx 5240bt. I put new maps on it. maps are unlocked and everything seemed fine. but now it has search problems. you can't find anything when you go to search and search for adress. if you search on the map(view map an then search on the map) then you can see names of places and you can navigate to them. does anyone know where is the problem
    thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    I would just like to say THANKS, the tip worked fine here on my DNX5240BT, using Garmin Unlocked City Navigator 2012.10, no search problems, it all works fine (apart from the fact the some speedlimit indications are off by 10 km/h, but hey, I still am supposed to drive the car right? And looking for speed limit signs is a part of it I guess..)
    So once again, thanks a million

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    Try to rename the new map like gmapprom1.img .
    Maybe works together original gampprom.img .
    It worked for me.
    Good luck.

  7. #7
    afierro is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    Good to know it works for you,

  8. #8
    afierro is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    Quote Originally Posted by fjunior1911 View Post
    Try to rename the new map like gmapprom1.img .
    Maybe works together original gampprom.img .
    It worked for me.
    Good luck.
    NO, in this model not work this way of name, it works just in Nuvi models..

  9. #9
    afierro is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    Quote Originally Posted by bergj69 View Post
    I would just like to say THANKS, the tip worked fine here on my DNX5240BT, using Garmin Unlocked City Navigator 2012.10, no search problems, it all works fine (apart from the fact the some speedlimit indications are off by 10 km/h, but hey, I still am supposed to drive the car right? And looking for speed limit signs is a part of it I guess..)
    So once again, thanks a million
    this is apreciate too!!

  10. #10
    REEFMAN520 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Kenwood DNX5140 Garmin maps how to

    i have a dnx 5140 kenwood i updated the firmware for the kenwood and for the maps when i plug my usb transfer cable in to the usb wire on my kenwood to my laptop it finds nothing can someone please tell me what i am doing wrong? or do i have the wrong cable? thank you
    Macsym likes this.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •