GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How can I find out GPS COM port for YV 82F WinCE6 DX sku39243 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How can I find out GPS COM port for YF Intl. 82F, DX sku 39243 ?

    Hi,

    I'm trying to get the free Maplorer program on my YF International 82F (DX sku 39243). For that I need the comm port and parameters of the GPS internally.

    The program guesses it is:

    Port=1
    BaudRate=9600
    ByteSize=8
    StopBits=0
    Parity=0
    Fake=0

    But that doesn't work.

    I downloaded a regstry editor to see if I could find the params in the registry, but couldn't find any keys for the GPS port assignment. Or none that were obvious, anyway.

    Anybody know, or have any suggestions on how to find this com port information?

    Thanks!.
    Last edited by vtmap; 21st July 2010 at 18:09. Reason: Mistake, change YV to YF

  2. #2
    rgs
    rgs is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YF 82F WinCE6 DX sku 39243 ?

    Go to:

    Settings -> System -> External GPS

    There you can set a "Com" Port for the GPS which can then be used by applications to communicate with the built-in GPS.

    The name may be kinda confusing - I know

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YF 82F WinCE6 DX sku 39243 ?

    Thanks rgs.

    I'm afraid this must be a really stripped down "user friendly" version of Win CE 6.

    I have Control Panel>System> and then no "External GPS" tab, just General, Memory, Device Name, and Copyrights tabs.

    Nothing useful or technical in there.

    I've checked every item in the Device Manager for something useful. There really isn't anything. Kinda the opposite of the way Win 98 Device Manager used to be with everything there drivers, ports, etc. Kinda frustrating.

    I wonder if there's some sort of replacement out there for device manager in CE 6? Or some way of listing the port assignments with some outside program I could install?

    I thought I'd be able to find that stuff in the registry, but I can't. Or maybe there is some .ini file somewhere with the right info. Haven't found that either.

    Thanks again rgs.
    Last edited by vtmap; 16th July 2010 at 00:32.

  4. #4
    rgs
    rgs is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YF 82F WinCE6 DX sku 39243 ?

    Maybe Sktools will work. It ships with a "Device Information" tool you can browse through your COM and - if present - USB ports until something like:

    $device\COM4 .... GPS Intermediate Driver\Multiplexer\ActiveDevice

    is listed. Then you've the right port.

    At least at one older HTC phone running Win Mobile 6 - the GPS is listed under

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\GPS Intermediate Driver

    That's the driver, then it just needs to be set to a port apps can use to communicate.

    But - may be they stripped down everything from your device in order to prevent someone from "jail breaking" it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YF 82F WinCE6 DX sku 39243 ?

    Thanks again rgs for the tip,

    UPDATE:

    I was able to get Maplorer working with the following com parameters:

    COM port 1
    Baud rate 4800
    Stop Bits 1

    Hope that info helps someone else with the same unit. My GPS now supports any maps I care to make up -- I even used Google maps satellite image to make a photographic hiking map. You basically grab a screenshot of any map as a jpg, and load it into the GPS with some corner coordinates. This software is open source, so no problem with map sources. Thanks for all assistance in getting this working!
    Last edited by vtmap; 21st July 2010 at 18:06.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YV 82F WinCE6 DX sku39243 ?

    This bug about corner inversion is now fixed in Maplorer. A new version is available at
    The inversion concerned also north and south - it would be realy great if someone from Australia or New Zealand could test this!

    Western (Americas, ...) and Southern coordinates (Australia) must be given as negative.

    Thanks for reporting the problem.

  7. #7
    satanisme is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YV 82F WinCE6 DX sku39243 ?

    maybe off topic, anyone found a papago version that works with this device? dx sku 39243 ?

  8. #8
    Airion's Avatar
    Airion is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 4,997 Times in 512 Posts

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YV 82F WinCE6 DX sku39243 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by satanisme View Post
    maybe off topic, anyone found a papago version that works with this device? dx sku 39243 ?
    What is your device working com and baud.
    The papago.exe must be edited to your device settings.

  9. #9
    satanisme is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YV 82F WinCE6 DX sku39243 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Airion View Post
    What is your device working com and baud.
    The papago.exe must be edited to your device settings.
    C1 and baud: 4800. thanks.

  10. #10
    Airion's Avatar
    Airion is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 4,997 Times in 512 Posts

    Re: How can I find out GPS COM port for YV 82F WinCE6 DX sku39243 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by satanisme View Post
    C1 and baud: 4800. thanks.
    What version do you want to use. Make a request in the version thread.
    Help you from there not here. Wrong section

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •