Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Hi,

    I'm a newby to this forum, so I hope I'm posting this in the right subsection...

    Recently I bought a 2nd hand Panasonic Strada CN-GP50, and offcourse it still has the old maps. But what is more inconvenient; it lacks some eastern european countries I visit often. Who can help me with a map update? Maybe there is someone who has the same device? (I searched this forum, but did not find much on the Panasonic.. )
    Or is it possible to put different navigation software on it?

    Thanx!

    Since your system is a PND I moved your topic to the appropiate section
    Last edited by gazo; 21st January 2011 at 10:07.

  2. #2
    sug172 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    This unit is no longer supported which is a shame as its probably the nicest looking sat nav ever made, If you need maps you will have to get tomtom or another system running on it. Try and google "tomtom on my panasonic strada"

  3. #3
    ipaq_user is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Quote Originally Posted by Joris View Post
    Or is it possible to put different navigation software on it?
    Hi Joris,

    I have a Strada too and I run a few other navigation applications (NavApps) on it.
    Mostly I use iGO Primo, but Navigon 7 works perfectly also.
    I do not use TMC so I do not know if TMC will work with these NavApps.

    To unlock the Strada, get a new SD-Card and find the program CeDesktop.exe (Google for it)
    Copy this to the root of the SD-Card and rename it to SDAuto.exe
    Insert the SD-Card into the Strada and switch it on.
    Now you see the WindowsCE Desktop.

    If this works, you can use this forum to find the NavApp of your choice (with corresponding maps) and copy it onto the SD-Card.
    The GPS module can be found at Com 2 with 4800 baud.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to ipaq_user For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Ok, thanx!
    I will have a look for some other nav software; tips are appreciated.

    Update:
    If someone (ipaq_user?) has a tutorial on how to get new nav software and maps (i have to search & download them separately?) on my Panasonic I would be very thankfull. Basically all I want is Europe, and if TMC would work that would be very nice aswell.
    Since I tend to get lost in the overwhelming amount of software here that makes it hard choose.....
    Last edited by Joris; 24th January 2011 at 14:33.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Did you ever get sent instuctions? I have the SDFile.exe on the SD card but I cannot figure our what to download for a nav app & maps... The safelinking site does not appear to be working

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Same here.... I've read several threads where people were successful installing nav apps. Maybe someone might give some better links or more detailed directions???

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Love the Strada too, but needs a new map update.

    SDAuto.exe or rename to SDFile.exe?
    Downloaded the CeDesktop.exe.exe and renamed to just SDAuto.exe and loaded it to my
    map card (deleted map files-saved of course) but didn't unlock my Strada on my CP-GP50U. I just get 'Map not found'.
    USA units different?

  9. #8
    sunshine1 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    \ResidentFlash\navigation\navi.exe > rename to navi2.exe. Put simple script called "Navi.exe" to call \Storage Card\igo8\igo8.exe or whatever u want

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    Quote Originally Posted by sunshine1 View Post
    \ResidentFlash\navigation\navi.exe > rename to navi2.exe. Put simple script called "Navi.exe" to call \Storage Card\igo8\igo8.exe or whatever u want

    Hello,
    I have a Panasonic Strada CN-GP50N
    I wanted to put Ndrive there, but I doubt how.
    But I managed to access the menu WinCE v5.0 by explorer "ceDesktop"
    Now I have to drive "ResidentFlash" folder and "Navigation" inside.
    In "sd" I have a folder "Landmarrks" and a file "NT072 panasonic ....."
    Now I get it the NDrive11 for WINCE5.0 and placed in the folder NDrive "sd"
    How can I put the boot into NDrive gps when I turn on the gps?
    Help please
    sorry my english!

    edit:
    Some one make me the script for this way:

    \Storage Card\NDrive\NacCe5.exe

    It´s possible change de registry of the wince 5.0?
    Someone help me to do ít ?

    upload photos

    Thanks a lot
    Last edited by emcg; 9th January 2013 at 14:32.

  11. #10
    ipaq_user is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Panasonic Strada CN-GP50

    I recently picked up my Strada again and found some previous launch mechanisms on my harddrives.
    I'll check for usable SatNav programs and create a complete working set without maps.
    I know I can use igo, primo,MioMap, Navigon, NDrive, Sygic Drive and WolfNCU.
    Tomtom navigator (WinCE version) produces some sort of debug window, so unfortunately Tomtom is not usable.

    I never had to edit the registry to make SatNavs work.
    I now have MortScript to launch my SatNav.
    For your convenience I attached my current content of the SD root.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ipaq_user For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •