GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Nextar Q4-06.

  1. #1
    icntf's Avatar
    icntf is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Nextar Q4-06.

    Hello guys,

    A friend of mine gave me this GPS system to put some new maps on it, to make it work. He doesn't care what system I will install, he just want me to make it work. Inside is Windows CE 6.0 and almost all the programs are working good, except the GPS, because I don't know how and what to install.
    I've managed to install MioPocket 4.0 Realease 68 and I've tried to install TomTom, iGo etc. but without success. I'm more familiar with TomTom and I've tried to install it the same way I'm installing it on my TomTom 930 using maps (PDA), Easy Activator 5 etc. but still without success.

    Please, guys, help me to install a map, any map on this GPS, give me some links, advices or where can I read some "how to's" ...!

    PLEASE!

    Thank you in advance!

    P.S. I have forgot to tell you that I'm looking for Canada's map, North America or USA & Canada.
    Last edited by icntf; 31st March 2011 at 03:20.

  2. #2
    icntf's Avatar
    icntf is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    OK, so finally I have managed to install TomTom on this unit and, because probably there's many other people interested in what I've did, I will explain right now.

    1. I've downloaded "USA_and_Canada_865_3259" because this is one of the latest map and it's working with PDA/WinCE. I've copied the entire folder into the root of the SD card (in the GPS).
    2. I've downloaded "TomTom_Navigator_WinCE4.2.rar", I've extract the files from the archive and I've copied the entire folder to the root of the SD card (in the GPS).
    3. I've downloaded "ENG_FastActivate_28.03.2011_Premium_edition_v1.8. 6.6.rar", I've extract the files from the archive and I've used the file "FastActivate.exe" to activate/patch the system.

    After all these steps, the TomTom software from the GPS it started but I've got the message "No GPS device". To get rid of this message and to get signal, I've turned on TomTom, I've pressed on the signal bars on the lower right side of the screen, I've pressed again on the satellite bars on the screen that have just opened, I've pressed on the "Configure", I've selected "Other NMEA GPS receiver, I've set up the GPS baud rate to 4800, I've selected the "GPS is connected to: COM7 (my case, probably could be a different COM port) and ... that's it. The signal appeared almost instantly ...!

    I hope this will help some other people too. All the information/files I have found on this website, except the "MioPocket 4.0 Release 68". To get the "MioPocket 4.0", just Google it because I don't know if it's allowed to insert links to the other websites. You will find it, don't worry ...!

    Good luck to everybody and MANY THANKS to all the people who made this possible.

    Byeeeee ...!

    P.S. I would like to try iGO too (and other systems) but probably today I will return this unit. If anybody knows how to do it, please share.

  3. #3
    Louisiana is offline Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    Man thats awesome ! I just bought a q4-06 and it didn't have a sd card, the company will not sell me one, even though its a new unit...I might have to ask you a few things..
    I bought it from a no return center, I think I jumped the gun at 30 bucks..
    I'm a pretty techy guy.
    Can I ask what software I need to put on this or where to start?
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Louisiana is offline Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    Anyone care to jump in and lend a hand ? I have everythig downloaded. Installed on the gps momory and on a new sd card, I still have the 3 Icons from the Nextar; Navigator, Music, Photo's and settings.. I couldnt find a walk through or instructions.
    Thank You

  5. #5
    kruuth is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    What exactly do you want to do? The Nextar is a PNA not a PDA It runs a limited version of windows CE if memory serves me.

  6. #6
    Louisiana is offline Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    Hey Thanks Kruuth, I'd like to just make it work on anything, I dont have the maps sd card that was supposed to come with it.
    I would like to know how or what software I need to get into the machine so I can flash it with something else to test on it.

  7. #7
    Louisiana is offline Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    265 Views and 5 replies ???? Come on peeps, share some knowledge !

  8. #8
    Louisiana is offline Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Nextar Q4-06

    Can anyone tell me what I need to start to get mine going ?
    I bought it and it didn't have a sd in it and they will not take it back and the company wont sell me a card.
    I bought a 2gb card for it.
    I would like to put some other software on it or if someone can point me to where I can get a copy of whats supposed to be on the sd card I would appreciate it.
    I have access to a TT, can I clone it ?
    Looking for any options.
    Thank You

  9. #9
    icntf's Avatar
    icntf is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    Hello,

    Sorry I didn't answer earlier but I've logged into the website right now and I saw your messages.

    So, first of all, you have to install MioPocket 4.0. I can't really remember what I did to make the GPS unit to boot directly into the MioPocket but I will try to help you somehow. If you manage to start (automatically) the MioPocket the, you have to download some TomTom maps (this is what I've installed), run the keygen and this is it, pretty much ...!

    I will try to remember what I did ...! I've returned the unit to my friend right after I've installed everything on it.

    Bye!

  10. #10
    icntf's Avatar
    icntf is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nextar Q4-06.

    What I remember: don't touch anything in your GPS. You have to copy and install everything on you SD card.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •