GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

  1. #1
    col300 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Is just mine or has anyone else noticed.

    When i look for poi's and it tells me the distance at the side, it is wrong by quite a lot. e.g when looking for closest mcdonalds it says in the list 2.1 miles, if i then selct to navigate to it it then corrects the distance to 3.5 miles which is right. Its the same for all my favorites too.

  2. #2
    Airion's Avatar
    Airion is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 4,997 Times in 512 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Check your menu setting carefully.

    Read the post info on sygic drive settings.

    The error is only few meters pending urban and non urban areas.

    It can't be miles apart.
    Last edited by Airion; 16th July 2010 at 13:35.

  3. #3
    col300 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Thanks for advice, but It definetly is miles out. I have also read about the sygic file system. I Changed from MM9 to 10. I have a list of favorites that I have also copied over. Same poi on MM9 says 49.5 miles (from my home) and on MM10 it says 32 miles (this is only in poi / favorites list view). When I select route me for the same poi it then works out the correct miles and says 49.5 miles remaining. It does this with all favorites and all poi's.

    I'm using: -

    SygicM10 v8.14
    TeleAtlas_EUROPE_10.mlm
    gbr map from this thread
    )

    Is this mlm compatible with this map? (I have activated it)

    Thanks,


    Colin.

  4. #4
    Airion's Avatar
    Airion is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 4,997 Times in 512 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Use the POI convertor in the thread

    When you upgrade the software - you have to update the upi.file too

    Now convert it and try out again

  5. #5
    col300 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Thanks for the help, tried the convertor but made no difference. It isn't just the favorites, its all the poi's (are these built into the map?). If i search poi near my position then any category, the list that comes up with names and distance is all wrong. If a poi says 30 miles in the list, and i then select to route me, it then corrects the distance once it has calculated the route and will change to 50 miles.

    If the poi's are built into the map, I'll try a different UK map. Just out of interest, is the mlm file i'm using ok with just a gbr map?

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Airion's Avatar
    Airion is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 4,997 Times in 512 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Did you use the GBR 2009.08

    The map might not be suitable for your unit.

    Discard it. I find and upload the most available one.

    What unit are you using
    Last edited by Airion; 16th July 2010 at 17:30.

  7. #7
    col300 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    The map is 2009.08, although I have tried an old map (2009.03) and had the same prob. The old one worked ok on MM9.

    Unit is HTC Magic (Android).

    Gonna try an earlier MM10 version and see how that goes.

    Thanks again.

  8. #8
    col300 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Just tried an earlier version of MM10 with a different mlm file and still got same problem. Stumped! Gonna go back to 9 with a newer map I think.

    Cheers for the help.

  9. #9
    col300 is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Sorry, just re-read your earlier post, so your saying the gbr 2009.08 may be too old? If you could upload a later one that would excellent.

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Airion's Avatar
    Airion is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 4,997 Times in 512 Posts

    Re: Sygic MM10 POI distance wrong

    Maybe you must alter the map release date in the mlm file to coordinate with the maps.
    Simply copying the mlm file use isn't appropriate.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •