GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [moved] TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

  1. #1
    n416 is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    [moved] TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Hi there,

    Device Details:
    DEVICE: AK8......
    App 8.010 (9369) OS: 190943
    GPS v1.21 Boot: 5.3026
    Map: USA_and_Canada v710.1575

    I wanted:
    1. to upgrade US maps
    2. to install/use EU maps -I guess on SD -as device capacity would not let me have both at the same time.

    My understanding is that when TT is without SD -it will boot and use OS from the device itself, but when I insert SD (2GB) it will use OS and maps from SD.
    Is that correct?

    I've prepared SD as follows:
    1. format SD as fat16
    2. downloaded and simply extracted to SD Navcore_ONE-ONE_XL_SD_8.562_SE (is that sufficient?)
    3. created folder in SD called: Europe_2GB_845.2647 and placed file with the same name in it (downloaded and merged using HJsplit24)

    Now I am not sure what should be my next step(s)?

    What is the proper name for EU maps? Should I use name as I downloaded it?

    Can I "patch" SD card while connected to SD slot on the laptop -or it MUST be on the TT to be properly patched?

    I checked Video tutorial but was not sure that is applicable for this case...

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    jarkita's Avatar
    jarkita is offline Captain
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Plymouth / Warszawa
    Posts
    615
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 2,920 Times in 63 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Quote Originally Posted by n416 View Post
    My understanding is that when TT is without SD -it will boot and use OS from the device itself, but when I insert SD (2GB) it will use OS and maps from SD.
    True.

    I've prepared SD as follows:
    1. format SD as fat16
    2. downloaded and simply extracted to SD Navcore_ONE-ONE_XL_SD_8.562_SE (is that sufficient?)
    3. created folder in SD called: Europe_2GB_845.2647 and placed file with the same name in it (downloaded and merged using HJsplit24)
    1. fat32
    2. ok
    3. map folder should be in root NOT inside your Europe folder http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...ract-map-files

    What is the proper name for EU maps? Should I use name as I downloaded it?
    Can I "patch" SD card while connected to SD slot on the laptop -or it MUST be on the TT to be properly patched?
    You can name it as you want. Make sure name is not too long though ...
    You can patch while in slot, write down your device ID first - you will need it.

  3. #3
    n416 is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Thanks for quick reply.

    What would be the benefit of using FAT32 if the capacity is the same (2GB)

    Is it confirmed that 4GB SD works with XL ONE -TT Support told me that 2GB is the max for this device...

  4. #4
    jarkita's Avatar
    jarkita is offline Captain
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Plymouth / Warszawa
    Posts
    615
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 2,920 Times in 63 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Quote Originally Posted by n416 View Post
    What would be the benefit of using FAT32 if the capacity is the same (2GB)
    Is it confirmed that 4GB SD works with XL ONE -TT Support told me that 2GB is the max for this device...
    I don't know benefits of fat32 ... my formater doesn't even have fat16 ...
    EDIT: Now I know http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...d-Fat-vs-Fat32
    Support is right but they don't know your plans Your actual bootloader is to low to serve more than 2GB cards, if you upgrade navcore to 8.562 inside is bootloader 5.5138 (file called system or system55138) which will let your tt see more than 2GB cards. Make sure tt battery is fully charged before installation and bootloader file is callled system (you can rename it).
    Last edited by jarkita; 27th May 2010 at 09:39. Reason: fat16 added

  5. #5
    n416 is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Sweet. Thank you Jarkita.
    I managed to upgrade system NavCore to 8.562 on both device and SD (2GB) -so I am set for time being. Will look into 4GB SD shortly and let you guys know...

    Cheers

  6. #6
    keroma is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Do you need to install Navcore to SD card? I have installed Navcore on device but i cannot put the map on SD card and load it to device to use. Any suggestion? I was using mircoSD 4G with SD adapter.

  7. #7
    jarkita's Avatar
    jarkita is offline Captain
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Plymouth / Warszawa
    Posts
    615
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 2,920 Times in 63 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    @keroma: You can have it either way but both navcore and map(s) must be present at the same time ... So both on internal memory and/or both on card. If a card is plugged in tt reads from card otherwise from internal.

  8. #8
    n416 is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TT XL ONE dual use (internal + SD)?

    Quote Originally Posted by keroma View Post
    Do you need to install Navcore to SD card? I have installed Navcore on device but i cannot put the map on SD card and load it to device to use. Any suggestion? I was using mircoSD 4G with SD adapter.
    Yes -you need to have Navcore on the SD card -if you want to use map from SD card. In my case, I have on the device navcore and NA maps while on the SD I have navcore and EU maps. When SD is inserted in device GPS boots from SD and loads EU maps while when I remove SD card -GPS boots of device itself and loads NA maps. I will try later on -for simplicity reasons (maintaining one navcore is easier than 2)to use bigger (4GB) SD and put all maps there...
    Last edited by n416; 28th May 2010 at 01:17.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •