GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    Hello glad to see the new underground up again.

    I have a problem and cant seem to figure it out. I have a ttxlone with navicore 9.051, map 845.2645, 32ram with 4.5mb free.
    I have 8 to 10 bars in grey color and the unit says no gps signal are you in a biulding. No matter how far I drive the TT does not go to blue bars.
    I have done the following
    hard reset
    soft reset
    reinstall with above back up
    reinstall with old back up
    all gps fix updates
    and clear fix.

    Still 8 to 10 bars and no signal.
    Any suggestions
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    lake city fl
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    i suggest you send it back the receiver antenna inside probably gone bad good luck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    Do you think an external antenna would help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Re: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    Hi,

    I have a similar problem, My dad brought a 2nd hand sold as faulty tomtom one. I assumed with a new navcore and maps it would have fixed it but nil result so far.

    It does find satellite's but not as many as my tomtom one, it will find upto 3 within around 30mins (if lucky), but the bars will not turn from grey to blue, even when the bars are full!

    When it did lock, witch as only ever happened once in a blue moon, its been attached to my loft window and left alone. but soon as I come down to normal ground, it loses it's lock again.

    Like I said, I've tried various different navcore's, hard reset, soft reset, clear the tomtoms cash, quickGPS fixes. And no improvement.

    I was just wondering, as it can find sats but not many and have full grey signal, plus is still able to get the UTC signal. Could the internal aerial be dead/dieing?

    And would it be worth trying an external one?

    Many thanks and sorry for rambling one lol

    Dave

  5. #5
    ato's Avatar
    ato
    ato is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    I dont know what kind of device you all use. My TT Go 710 (mainly after a satellite quick fix update with tomtomhome) can find 4-6 satellite also inside my house. So your problem should be pending on your device type.

    Go 710, nc 9.101.516023.2, Europe.v.845.2670, Boot 5.5259 on 16 GB SanDisk Ultra SDHC card

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    hi

    thanks for the reply, its a tomtom one v4. I have done every update that tthome downloads just at the hope it might lock on, but still nothing.

    dave

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Poor gps signal....r u in a building

    strange aswell, only time I ever do get a lock is when I stick the tomtom to my attic window, as per picture. which is 3 stories up. but back on open level ground nothing? Im sure the internal antenna's had it?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •