GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tomtom Home

  1. #1
    cacaiste is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Colombia N.L.
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Tomtom Home

    It is "safe" to connect to Tomtom Home a Tomtom device with "updated maps"?

  2. #2
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    How do you mean "updated".
    I have tomtom navigator7 which is patched, running a patched map from this site, and i connect to tomtom home everyday to download mapshare updates.

  3. #3
    cacaiste is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Colombia N.L.
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    This answer my question. Thanks.

  4. #4
    heijx is offline Second Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dutch Mountains
    Posts
    285
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    Just make sure you do not ever accept an update called "Tomtom Application", since that would replace your patched navcore with an unpatched navcore which does not read "downloaded" maps.

  5. #5
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    Quote Originally Posted by heijx View Post
    Just make sure you do not ever accept an update called "Tomtom Application", since that would replace your patched navcore with an unpatched navcore which does not read "downloaded" maps.
    Surly its a simple case of re patching your navcore, im sure people arent still using very old navcores are they?

  6. #6
    Megalos's Avatar
    Megalos is offline First Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 76 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    Quote Originally Posted by matty538 View Post
    Surly its a simple case of re patching your navcore, im sure people arent still using very old navcores are they?
    No, but I think most of the time when TT HOME offers a NC, it's an older one. Most SE NC's are newer than the official ones .

  7. #7
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    Your assuming the poster uses an se navcore, as they dont know wether they can use patched maps with tomtom home id say they probably run a standard version

  8. #8
    Megalos's Avatar
    Megalos is offline First Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 76 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    Mm, I don't know. Their NC is either an SE or a patched one. If it's the latter case, you're right; there could indeed be a software update. And in that case, they should repatch.

  9. #9
    heijx is offline Second Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dutch Mountains
    Posts
    285
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Thumbs up Re: Tomtom Home

    Hmm, you are all right.
    Ok, I think I have a more conctrete answer:

    - If you run an SE navcore, never update the "Tomtom application" aka Navcore. Use the text file described in the SE Readmenot.txt file to construct a protection against Navcore updates which will last until the latest available navcore for you device is augmented.
    - If you have patched your navcore in the past but in the mean time a new version is available, you should accept the update and after that repatch the newly received navcore. It could be that you also need to download a newer version of the patch tool.

  10. #10
    matty538 is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 284 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Tomtom Home

    Well put heijx, unfortunately im no expert on tomtom devices just what iv learnt reading forums as I have ttn7, but even I understand that.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •