GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: TOMTOM 710 1GB

  1. #1
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    TOMTOM 710 1GB

    Hi,

    I tried having a look through this site and other, but can't seem to find anything to help !

    (probably because i don't know what i'm doing)

    I have a TOMTOM Go 710 with a 1gb TOMTOM original SD card.

    I wanted to update the map so took a backup of the whole SD card and put on a new map files...

    nothing worked so i deleted the new stuff and tried copying all the original stuff back, but then it told me there wasn't enough room on the SD card !!!

    Since then i've managed to get myself in a right mess and have no idea what should be on the card or not.

    When i turn the TOMTOM on it says something like "no maps found"

    any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    many thanks, i'll try that...

    format FAT or NTFS ?

  3. #3
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    ok....done the following...

    1. formatted SD (i used FAT16 as it's onlyt a 1GB SD)
    2. loaded the files on SD
    3. put SD in TOMTOM and turned on until i got the 'no maps found'
    4. turned TOMTOM off (what was that noise on exit ?)
    5. downloaded the following map:

    WE_1gb_850_2783
    pass lazy
    Code: 6. the map file size is 918mb, but after adding the files in stage (2) there is only 906mb free on the sd card

    Is there anything i can delete from either the first set of files or from the map files to make room ? (maybe that annoying noise on TOMTOM switch off for example ?)

    PLEASE HELP ?

  4. #4
    NRT's Avatar
    NRT
    NRT is offline Command Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 31 Times in 23 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    Quote Originally Posted by Hammah View Post
    ok....done the following...

    1. formatted SD (i used FAT16 as it's onlyt a 1GB SD)
    2. loaded the files on SD
    3. put SD in TOMTOM and turned on until i got the 'no maps found'
    4. turned TOMTOM off (what was that noise on exit ?)
    5. downloaded the following map:

    WE_1gb_850_2783
    pass lazy
    Code: 6. the map file size is 918mb, but after adding the files in stage (2) there is only 906mb free on the sd card

    Is there anything i can delete from either the first set of files or from the map files to make room ? (maybe that annoying noise on TOMTOM switch off for example ?)

    PLEASE HELP ?
    Why not just buy a bigger sd card?

  5. #5
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    yea, thanks for the suggestion, but i'm sticking with this 1gb card thanks.

    it's an original TOMTOM card so it must be able to fit all the files on there !!

    thanks

  6. #6
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    hi and thanks for all the help so far...

    i deleted the Vokalizers folder and loaded the map files on into a folder called "Western_Europe_1GB-163"

    the TOMTOM is now saying "problem with map... You cannot use this map on this device: Western_Europe_1GB-163"

    any suggestions ?

  7. #7
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    Sounds like you need to patch the map with a keygen
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

  8. #8
    ato's Avatar
    ato
    ato is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    You can find patch here: http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...EasyActivator5
    and here: http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...-keygen-tomtom

    Go 710, nc 9.101.516023.2, Europe.v.850.2801, Boot 5.5259 on 16 GB SanDisk Ultra SDHC card

  9. #9
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    sorry, i'm such a noob....how do i do that ?

    i used the map link you posted btw !

    thanks

  10. #10
    Hammah is offline Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOMTOM 710 1GB

    ok...i couldn't find anything called 'on-activator', but i tried using the easy-activator tool.

    problem is that i get an error when i come to 'generate the *.meta.dct file...
    ---------------
    There is no such map ('Western_Europe_1GB-163.meta') in keyfile
    'Meta.txt'
    'Western_Europe_1GB-163.meta' - Error
    ---------------

    please help !

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •