GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Upgrading Navcore

  1. #1
    tomtomwiz1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Upgrading Navcore

    I have TT One v3 with 7.903 navcore running UK maps 850.2820. Is there a benefit to upgrade the navcore and if so, what is a safeone to go to please?

  2. #2
    eskro's Avatar
    eskro is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    you gain newer looking menu basically,,,,

  3. #3
    band27's Avatar
    band27 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    The best thing to do is try new ones but always backup your original.

  4. #4
    tomtomwiz1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Quote Originally Posted by band27 View Post
    The best thing to do is try new ones but always backup your original.
    Only concern I had was that I have read here that one can brick the TT if wrong core is used - hence my question about a "safe" one to upgrade to.

  5. #5
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomwiz1 View Post
    Only concern I had was that I have read here that one can brick the TT if wrong core is used - hence my question about a "safe" one to upgrade to.
    You can safely use Navcore 8412.1236, its not the core that will brick your device, its the bootloader, so if you remove the "system" file from any Navcore before installing it you are safe. If it works OK then dont change it. READ MY POST IN THE NAVCORE TUTORIALS ON BOOTLOADER VERSIONS
    You can safely use bootloader 5.5015 or 5.5128
    Open your device in windows, open the ttgo.bif file with notepad, see which bootloader you are running at present
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

  6. #6
    tomtomwiz1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Many thanks for that. I am using 5.5106. What are the advantages for the upgrade to say 5.128 apart from newer menus I think? If I put the 5.5128 "TTsystem" file in the TT root directory, will it need to be pathed with Easy Activator?

  7. #7
    tomtomwiz1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Before I spend the money, will 5.5106 use SD greater than 2gb?

  8. #8
    macapaca's Avatar
    macapaca is offline Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomwiz1 View Post
    Before I spend the money, will 5.5106 use SD greater than 2gb?
    YES, 5.5106 supports 4Gb.
    Also do not confuse "ttsystem" with "system" ("system" is the file that re-writes the bootloader eprom)
    AS I REPLIED TO YOUR POST BEFORE, READ MY POST IN THE NAVCORE SECTION UNDER BOOTLOADER VERSIONS
    TomTom Go730 + Bootloader 5.5229 + Navcore SE 9485 + Latest UK Map
    Garmin Zumo 660LM + Latest Firmware and Maps
    Windows Ultimate 7 64bit + OCZ-SSD + i7 2600K @ 4.6 GHz + 2GB Radeon HD 6970 + 8GB DDR3 1600MHz

  9. #9
    tomtomwiz1 is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Thanks for the help. I am now on:

    TomTom One V3, Bootloader 5.5128, Navcore 9.053, GB 850.2820.

    Only question I have is; is this the most suitable combination?

  10. #10
    teerak2uk is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lincs,UK
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 15 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Upgrading Navcore

    Hi guys i also have a V3 tomtom one it is currently running 8.410 but freezes then reboots when you press the screen to select the menu`s ny ideas whats the best thing to do with this


    many thanks guys

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •