GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: TT720 Go MAP Upgrade WesternEurope: Mapsize is > Available Memory size (2GB)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    TT720 Go MAP Upgrade WesternEurope: Mapsize is > Available Memory size (2GB)

    Hello,

    I want to upgrade my TT720 with the Western Europe Maps (860 or 865)
    Current config of my TT720 is:
    P N A :TomTom GO720 - 2GB
    DeviceName:TomTom GO 720
    BootLoaderVersion:55120
    Serialno.:M62457A09997
    DeviceUniqueID:AK4A8C2DUS
    NavCore:8351.9982
    Current Map: Western_Europe
    Map Version No:705.1480

    Currently the complete size of the software directories in RAM is 1.78GB.
    The current size of Western-Europe map directory is 1.60GB.
    I noticed the 860 WE map-size is 2.03 GB.
    Can this 860 (or 865) WE map be trimmed to fit in about 1.8GB and how?
    I have also a SD-card slot in which lets say 4GB can be inserted which can host the 860 or 865 map.
    Is my bootloader version ok for this? If not, which version can be used?
    Can the SD-card and the physical 2MB be used together: either allowing me to switch between the new and the old version or allowing me to spread the new 860 or 865 map over the physical memory and the SD-card?

    Thanks for your valuable support.

    Bobke

  2. #2
    lemonfish's Avatar
    lemonfish is offline Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,073
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 1,443 Times in 305 Posts

    Re: TT720 Go MAP Upgrade WesternEurope: Mapsize is > Available Memory size (2GB)

    Your bootloader is fine and can use any SDHC cards up to 32Mb. You should use that instead of the internal memory.

    When the SD or SDHC card is inserted, your GO 720 won't even look in the internal memory. It will just boot off the card, so you can't use both the card and internal memory simultaneously - it's either one or the other.

    You won't need to format or alter your internal memory. Just leave that as is and setup everything on your 4GB+ card.
    Last edited by lemonfish; 11th March 2011 at 23:16.
    TomTom Tutorials & FAQ
    TomTom GO 730, Navcore 9.051c, 64Mb RAM, Australia 910.4892, Bootloader: 5.5250
    TomTom ONE v1, Navcore 9.170SE, 32Mb RAM, Australia 910.4892, Bootloader: 5.5244

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TT720 Go MAP Upgrade WesternEurope: Mapsize is > Available Memory size (2GB)

    Thanks lemonfish.
    As I will do this for the first time, can you give some details on your last sentence: "setup everything on your 4GB+ card."
    Thanks for your support.
    Bobke

  4. #4
    lemonfish's Avatar
    lemonfish is offline Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,073
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 1,443 Times in 305 Posts

    Re: TT720 Go MAP Upgrade WesternEurope: Mapsize is > Available Memory size (2GB)

    Quote Originally Posted by bobke View Post
    Thanks lemonfish.
    As I will do this for the first time, can you give some details on your last sentence: "setup everything on your 4GB+ card."
    Thanks for your support.
    Bobke
    Ok, you'll need to read some tutorials. You can find some on this site, or see the one I wrote on another site with easy-to-follow steps:

    TUTORIAL: Australia v865 maps, voices, Aus POIs & safety cams on any TomTom device - Austech

    Follow all the steps, but instead of the Australia map, download the Europe West 865.3245 map you need from the maps section of this site.
    TomTom Tutorials & FAQ
    TomTom GO 730, Navcore 9.051c, 64Mb RAM, Australia 910.4892, Bootloader: 5.5250
    TomTom ONE v1, Navcore 9.170SE, 32Mb RAM, Australia 910.4892, Bootloader: 5.5244

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TT720 Go MAP Upgrade WesternEurope: Mapsize is > Available Memory size (2GB)

    Thanks again Lemonfish!
    And yes, your tutorials are clear and give me the confidence to upgrade my TT720.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •