Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

  1. #1
    bmwdriver+'s Avatar
    bmwdriver+ is offline First Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 283 Times in 7 Posts

    Unhappy How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    If you want to play with plugins, TTS etc. on small devices (32 MB RAM) you run into the problem to have not enough available RAM.
    Navigation gets slower or freezes.

    Latest NavCores get more and more features while needing more and more RAM.

    Startung with NC v9 most plugins stopped working properly.
    The interface to the gps has been changed.
    Printing popup-messages on the screen became difficult.
    "Snap-to-road" feature got lost.

    IMHO the best compromise is to use a NC v8 for these experiments.

    I tried a lot and decided to use

    NC 8.545 (Birthday = 16 December 2009).
    It was made for the Ease (USA) and has official support for TTS:

    TomTom Ease

    This is THE latest NC v8 for car-navigation.

    I patched it with DSA and modified the ttsystem to get most possible configurations.
    As a result I got ~ 10 MB available RAM without plugin on mode "oneiq" or "start" (3panel status bar).

    This is a copy of my sdcard:
    download

    This is a good starting point for experiments.

    Feedback would be appreciated..

    additional infos:

    you can save RAM in general:
    - using small maps (only one country)
    - dont use an ASR/CSPEECH enabled map, if your device doesnt have a microphone
    - no TTS, no mp3, no bluetooth, no ASR, no HNR, no speedcams
    - making POIs invisible on the map
    - no plugin

    TTS is enabled in this configuration, but the files are not included in my backup.

    If you want to change the mode you have to modify the file "reskin" with a Linux compatible editor (like Notepad++ or UltraEdit for example). Dont use Notepad or Wordpad (CR/LF -> LF problem). You can also just copy one of the attached configuration files to the root of your sdcard if you dont have such an editor.

    configuration files:
    configuration.zip

    Modes "x20", "x30", "x40", "oneiq" and "start" are expected to work on all devices.

    My interpretation of NC8.544 (Birthday = 16 October 2009). is still available:
    It was made for the Start with 32 MB of RAM. (NOT Start2 !) and can be used as a base for "Navcore8-Mireille-Edition (ME)":
    download

    If your device does not work like expected, try this:
    remove settings.dat, remove mapsettings.cfg, run ClearFlash utility
    Clear Flash tool

    The screenshot feature (shutter noise when touching upper left corner of navigation screen) can be disabled by removing or renaming the folder "screen".

    Pls. don't ask questions through PM. Do use this forum!

    How to get maximum available RAM on small devices-screenshot_a.png


    Other absorbing postings of bmwdriver:

    History-of-NavCores
    Rider3-app-on-non_Rider-and-old-Rider-devices= NC 9.205
    latest-NC-prepared-for-small-and-large-devices= NC 9.058, NC 9.061, NC 9.151, NC 9.160, NC 9.170, NC 9.205
    Best-NavCore-for-Go-x10-Go-x20-and-Go-x30= NC 9.051, NC 9.136
    How-to-get-maximum-available-RAM-on-small-devices= NC 8.545
    Last edited by bmwdriver+; 4th November 2011 at 16:05.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    I used the downloaded copy of your SD card containing NC8.545, and I'm very pleased to report great success! On another SD card I run NC8.204 quite successfully, but I have to say that your NC8.545 results in some additional 3 MB of free RAM.

    Emulation x40 gives more usable menu options on my ONE XL than any of the other emulations you provided in your 'configuration' download.

    The 'reskin' method of trying out various emulations is very effective. Where did that method originate?

    The v9. series of navcores I've tried, are too 'heavy' for my 32MB RAM ONE XL...


    I'm very impressed! Thanks...

  3. #3
    bmwdriver+'s Avatar
    bmwdriver+ is offline First Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 283 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Quote Originally Posted by mrlong View Post
    The v9. series of navcores I've tried, are too 'heavy' for my 32MB RAM ONE XL...
    You should try my other NCs.
    I'm very impressed! Thanks...
    You are welcome.
    Go 730 + Best NavCore for Go x30, One 2nd edition + Urban Rider NC or Latest NC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Hi bmwdriver+,

    I have a good old Tomtom One XL, and thanks to you, I can now use some new features of the recent gps (like IQ, ALG and TTS), and without a loss of performances !

    Big thanks to you man !!!

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to lasyan3 For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    bmwdriver+'s Avatar
    bmwdriver+ is offline First Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 283 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Quote Originally Posted by lasyan3 View Post
    Big thanks to you man !!!
    you are welcome
    Go 730 + Best NavCore for Go x30, One 2nd edition + Urban Rider NC or Latest NC

  7. #6
    Peddersgolf's Avatar
    Peddersgolf is offline Sergeant
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Put this in my ONE XL, loved the fact it had same menu as the tomtom START models, then wet into the menu and not may options there, of course it will save ram, uploader as removed most of options, which a difference to my 8.562 navcore and this was only 2.1mb ram extra.
    Live services not there so no options to change the sound on cameras, loads of other stuff removed, so pointless really.
    I gone back to my normal navcore, but wouldn't mind one with all options and menu fascia look of this one.
    Thanks anyway

  8. #7
    Raikard is offline Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Quote Originally Posted by Peddersgolf View Post
    Put this in my ONE XL, loved the fact it had same menu as the tomtom START models, then wet into the menu and not may options there, of course it will save ram, uploader as removed most of options, which a difference to my 8.562 navcore and this was only 2.1mb ram extra.
    Live services not there so no options to change the sound on cameras, loads of other stuff removed, so pointless really.
    I gone back to my normal navcore, but wouldn't mind one with all options and menu fascia look of this one.
    Thanks anyway
    Try this one:

    bmwdriver+ 9.061

    This works in my TT One v2 (with SD card) with 7~8Mb of free Ram. (Full 870 Iberia map with speedcams).

    You have to modify the file "reskin" with Notepad++ to "xliq" mode.

  9. #8
    defi is offline Private
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Just installed on my Onev3
    All good miles better than 8.417 no more lagging behind actual position
    Thank you bmwdriver+
    Last edited by defi; 17th June 2011 at 13:46.

  10. #9
    bmwdriver+'s Avatar
    bmwdriver+ is offline First Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 283 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Quote Originally Posted by defi View Post
    Thank you bmwdriver+
    You are welcome.
    Go 730 + Best NavCore for Go x30, One 2nd edition + Urban Rider NC or Latest NC

  11. #10
    teme565 is offline Private
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 1 Post

    Re: How to get maximum available RAM on small devices

    Works perfectly in my TomTom One V1. Thanks. ~9MB's of free RAM
    TomTom GO730 running Navcore 9.051 by bmwdriver+
    TomTom One V1 running Navcore 8.545 by bmwdriver+

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •