GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Software reset on TNS 700

  1. #1
    Gucio is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Software reset on TNS 700

    I read some relevant threads on the forum but this still left me a bit confused so I hope to get fairly simple answers to fairly simple questions.

    If one replaces original 2006-2007 GEN5 disc with an unmodified copy of E12 disc (or an original) then :
    - system software gets updated
    - E12 software will prevent copied discs to load (some kind of prevention measure)
    Is it True / False ?

    Once that happens the only way to make the system load copied discs is by replacing E12 software with an older version commonly referred to as E10.
    Is it True / False ?

    The procedure for replacing E12 software with a E10 version is as follows :
    - clear unit's memory by disconnecting the unit from power supply either by removing certain fuses or by disconnecting the battery
    - on boot up system should request a disc with system software and at this point a disc (original or copy) with E10 software or older should be inserted
    Is it True / False ?

    To clear unit's memory the unit should be powered down for at least some time.
    Opinions vary as to how long it should remain disconnected.
    Some suggest a try and check approach i.e. until the system requests a system disc.
    Is there any recommended time that the unit should remain powered down ?
    1 minute, 5 minutes, 10, 15 ... ?

    Is there any potential danger of powering the unit down for "too long" ?
    Somebody reported that his unit stopped working after being disconnected from power for 30 minutes.
    I think at the end it turned out to be a problem with a system disc being damaged rather than with the unit itself.
    Can someone comment on that ?

    Starting with E11 version of the discs, images have to be modified by replacing that loading software (LOADING.KWI file) with its E10 version.
    Otherwise E11+ versions will "lock" the system and it will not load copied discs.
    Therefore only modified versions of images should be used for burning and any unmodified images avoided (unless to be used for modifications / customisations).
    Is it True / False ?

    Background info ...

    I have original 2006-2007 disc which is sufficient for the UK driving.
    The unit is TNS 700, the car is 2007 RAV4.
    We would be driving to Eastern Europe shortly.
    Firstly I downloaded some images of E12 discs from other locations on the net.
    I burned the discs and tried to use them but they could not be loaded.
    I noticed that at some point some software got updated in the unit and I believe it must have been E12 LOADING.KWI.
    Firstly I blamed my burners for failure : NEC ND-3520A and Optiarc AD-7201A
    Then I came across this forum and downloaded modified images, burned them on to discs with my existing burners but they did not work either.
    I also tried to reset the unit by removing two fuses in RAV's fuse box.
    I kept the unit powered down for no more than about 1 minute.
    This did not help.
    At this point I decided to get another burner and got LG GH22NS40 as recommended.
    Firmware (ROM) version NL02.
    Chipset Renesas (unless the printed name on the main chip is wrong or the chip itself is a fake).
    Made in India.
    I burned two discs yesterday but they did not load either.
    I plan to power the unit down again but this time for longer.

    At this point I have really two key questions :
    - Is powering the unit down the correct next step forward ?
    - How long should the unit be powered down ?

    Gucio

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Gucio For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    teodor is offline Staff Sergeant
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    you don't write corect the dvd+r dl the unit must stay disconect 1min max....after that if the dvd is write corectly -rom format with e 10 loading ..the unit load the software and after that work's good luck

  4. #3
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Quote Originally Posted by Gucio View Post
    I read some relevant threads on the forum but this still left me a bit confused so I hope to get fairly simple answers to fairly simple questions.

    At this point I have really two key questions :
    - Is powering the unit down the correct next step forward ?
    - How long should the unit be powered down ?

    Gucio
    Everything you mention is fully correct. The issue is that there is a PTP/OTP check
    You can leave the unit disconnected for months if you like, no harm done
    I suggest to disconnect at least for 15 minutes
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  5. #4
    Gucio is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Quote Originally Posted by teodor View Post
    you don't write corect the dvd+r dl the unit must stay disconect 1min max....after that if the dvd is write corectly -rom format with e 10 loading ..the unit load the software and after that work's good luck
    This is roughly what I plan to do ... I understand that I should actually see the software being loaded to the unit following the power down ... a kind of blueish screen should appear ...
    If it does not then the memory has not been erased completely and the procedure should be repeated with longer disconnection time - this is my understanding.

    Suprisingly the E12 software got loaded from a disc burned with either NEC or Optiarc drive (I do not remember which one) which, it seems to me, is promising ...
    I guess it might be the case that I did not need the LG drive at the end. What I needed was the correct image with modified E10 LOADING.KWI
    Once I make the unit work I will test discs burned with all three burners I have.

    PS
    If somebody insists on LG GH22NS40 (however its high ranking is being questioned here and there) then it is still in stock in the UK.
    Check microdirect.co.uk site.
    Last edited by Gucio; 10th December 2010 at 10:43.

  6. #5
    Gucio is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Quote Originally Posted by gazo View Post
    Everything you mention is fully correct. The issue is that there is a PTP/OTP check
    You can leave the unit disconnected for months if you like, no harm done
    I suggest to disconnect at least for 15 minutes
    Thanks for the confirmation ...

    Fuses vary between car models.
    I aim to remove fuses marked as 5 and 6 from the RAV's fuse box.
    RAV's manual suggests that both serve the sat nav unit (sounds a bit strange to me).

    PS
    I have just read some basic info about PTP/OTP ... it is logical ...
    I searched the forum for the explanation how this check is implemented in newer system software e.g. E12 but I could not find any info.
    Does it mean that pressed discs compared to burned ones are different in sense of PTP/OTP configuration (and therefore can be identified by appropriate software) ?
    Can a burner control how DL is burned, i.e. either PTP or OTP ?
    I am happy to read more but, pls, just point me to the correct thread.
    Last edited by Gucio; 10th December 2010 at 10:58.

  7. #6
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Just disconnnect the battery !

    Pressed DVD's are always PTP by design
    A blank DVD is always OTP by design and cannot be made into a PTP
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  8. #7
    Gucio is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Unhappy Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Here is the update ...

    I have run the process "by the book".
    No luck ...

    I powered down the unit.
    On start up an encouraging warning message has appeared that I shall seek assistance from the dealer (so the loading software has got cleared, excellent ).
    I inserted E12 West disc (Verbatim media) burned by LG GH22NS40.
    The software got loaded.
    So far so good.
    I could see a familiar blueish screen.
    Then the unit reported that it was unable to read the disc ... ooops ...
    This leaves me puzzled.
    I have tried the other three copied discs (North burned on LG, North burned on Optiarc and West burned on NEC).
    None of them got loaded.
    At the end I inserted the original 2006-2007 disc and it works.
    Have I missed anything ?
    Is there anything else worth trying ?
    Cleaning (somehow) the unit ?
    Repeating the procedure but inserting the original disc first (before the copies) ?

    Just to confirm the LOADING.KWI files on the discs :
    on all 4 copies : 115,126,272 bytes or 112,428KB or 109MB, file dated 19/11/2007
    Disc info (West / LG GH22NS40) returned from ImgBurn (from the laptop drive - ignore drive info) :

    Optiarc DVD RW AD-7540A 1.42 (ATA)
    Current Profile: DVD+R DL

    Disc Information:
    Status: Complete
    State of Last Session: Complete
    Erasable: No
    Sessions: 1
    Sectors: 3,109,936
    Size: 6,369,148,928 bytes
    Time: 691:07:61 (MM:SS:FF)
    Supported Write Speeds: 2.4x, 4x

    DVD±R DL Boundary Information:
    L0 Data Zone Capacity: 1,554,976
    Changeable: No

    TOC Information:
    Session 1... (LBA: 0)
    -> Track 01 (Mode 1, LBA: 0 - 3109935)
    -> LeadOut (LBA: 3109936)

    Physical Format Information (ADIP - L0):
    Disc ID: MKM-003-00
    Book Type: DVD+R DL
    Part Version: 1
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 2
    Track Path: Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Linear Density: 0.293 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 16,580,607
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 2,283,519

    Physical Format Information (ADIP - L1):
    Disc ID: MKM-003-00
    Book Type: DVD+R DL
    Part Version: 1
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 2
    Track Path: Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Linear Density: 0.293 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 16,580,607
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 2,283,519

    Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
    Disc ID: MKM-003-00
    Book Type: DVD-ROM
    Part Version: 1
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 2
    Track Path: Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Linear Density: 0.293 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 16,580,591
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 1,751,583

    Layer Information:
    Layer 0 Sectors: 1,554,976 (50%)
    Layer 1 Sectors: 1,554,960 (50%)

    Performance (Write Speed):
    Descriptor 1...
    -> B0: 0x00, B1: 0x00, B2: 0x00, B3: 0x00
    -> EL: 3109936 (0x002F7430)
    -> RS: 8,310 KB/s (6x) - WS: 3,324 KB/s (2.4x)
    Descriptor 2...
    -> B0: 0x00, B1: 0x00, B2: 0x00, B3: 0x00
    -> EL: 3109936 (0x002F7430)
    -> RS: 8,310 KB/s (6x) - WS: 5,540 KB/s (4x)
    PS
    Is it worth trying different media ?
    Last edited by Gucio; 10th December 2010 at 13:41.

  9. #8
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Have you considered that you may have burnt crap copies?
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  10. #9
    Gucio is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    Yes, I considered that and I can and I will produce some more ...
    I want to make sure that I have not missed anything obvious.
    It seems I am using optimal media, optimal burner, optimal images but it still does not work.
    If it down to luck, OK, I accept that but I want to eliminate any other causes that I can have some control over.

  11. #10
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software reset on TNS 700

    I cannot vow for the NL02 ROM Version
    I have only used the NL01 version myself and experienced very good results

    If you get a chance try to use any of the other DVD writers from the recommended list
    Never use a NEC or Optiarc (NEC). They seem to be amongst te worst for these activities
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 28th February 2012, 22:44
  2. 9th December 2011, 18:09
  3. 15th August 2011, 17:21

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •