GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: Software update for MS4400

  1. #1
    GzOnE's Avatar
    GzOnE is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Software update for MS4400

    Hi all, this is my first post here!

    I've recently bought an MS4400 who has still C-IQ software onboard, so I need to upgrade the unit with the last SW (MO 4372 SR 9, i think...).

    Can anybody help me?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    For using Supercode cd's and entering a supercode there is no need to update to M)4372

    http://rapidshare.com/files/396166051/Image_4372SR.rar

    Supercode retrieval
    http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...1764-Supercode

    Downlaod SC CD's
    http://gpsunderground.com/forum/show...rope-2009-2010
    Last edited by gazo; 27th June 2010 at 17:02.
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  3. #3
    GzOnE's Avatar
    GzOnE is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    First of all, many thanks for your really quick reply!

    I burned the update to a CD using imgburn, writing at 8x and verifying the disc. All went fine.

    Then, when I insert the CD into the unit, it shows me te confirmation dialog with the old (0.67) and the new (7.30) SW version, but when i press OK to start the update, it shows a message (for a so little time that it can't be read), then says that the update was interrupted and that i should remove the disc.

    Any suggestions? Could be a low quality CD the source of this problem?

    Many thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    Why do you want to update? Very foolish indeed!
    And you burnt a very poor copy, hence this behaviour
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  5. #5
    GzOnE's Avatar
    GzOnE is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    Quote Originally Posted by gazo View Post
    Why do you want to update? Very foolish indeed!
    Basically because I'm a geek, and a geek always wants the latest version!


    Quote Originally Posted by gazo View Post
    And you burnt a very poor copy, hence this behaviour
    I'll try with a superior quality media, and let you know how is it gone.

    In the meanwhile, many thanks again!

  6. #6
    GzOnE's Avatar
    GzOnE is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    Tried with a top quality disc (Tayo Yuden full-printabile, burnt on a Sony DRU-870S), but still no way! Jokes (of the previous post) apart, I need to update the software because the unit seems to be locked-up. I cannot access Setup menus, i cannot change language (actually the unit is in German language, and I'm Italian) nor display color. I can actually only listen to FM radio and play CDs/MP3s. At the startup the unit says something like "C-IQ - This nation is not enabled".

    Those are the steps of the SW-update procedure:


    First screen (confirmation)


    Second screen, it lasts few milliseconds, I catched that on a video recording!


    This is the final failure screen

    Any hints? I think i got stuck at this point.

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by GzOnE; 28th June 2010 at 22:28.

  7. #7
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    There is no reason to expect the copy to be acceptabel because you used a top quality CD!
    You may still use a writer that sucks!

    I am sorry to say that despite my comments you continue to act rather silly
    There is absolutely no way that a software update will solve problems like you describe!
    Looking at the present SW (0.67) iit would seem the unit was never used before (as navigation) and to get this unit into service a number of measures is necessary.
    You will need an original C-IQ cd that came with the unit. Insert the cd and then proceed with the Easy start procedure.
    Without it the unit is locked up as you say and issues the warning "this country not available"
    See what happens now and if you can access the menus

    If the unit is now operational, insert a supercode CD and enter the relevant supercode
    If the supercode is accepted everything seems fine

    You may now attempt to update the unit

    The Easy Start procedure is also described in the owners manual
    Last edited by gazo; 29th June 2010 at 07:31.
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  8. #8
    hell is offline Lieutenant General
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,410
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 198 Times in 165 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    i think this disc is simply not for the unit. btw the difference between the sw version numbers is unexpectedly high. for example during 6 years for the ms5000 the sw nuber has only been risen from 6.10 to 7.60 trhougout 9 releases but not from 0.7 to 7.0

    i think this chart may worth casting a wink:


  9. #9
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    He has downloaded and written the MO4372 which is the correct software for 4300 and 4400

    the 067 SW version is a factory SW that should have never have left the factory
    Normally the lowest market SW is 0610
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  10. #10
    GzOnE's Avatar
    GzOnE is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Software update for MS4400

    Quote Originally Posted by gazo View Post
    You will need an original C-IQ cd that came with the unit. Insert the cd and then proceed with the Easy start procedure.
    I have a set of original 2005/2006 C-IQ Map CDs. I did as you suggest, inserted one of them and then the unit said "False or defective CD. C-IQ not available".

    Tried with all original CDs i have at the moment (6 discs), all gave the same result.

    Quote Originally Posted by gazo View Post
    If the unit is now operational, insert a supercode CD and enter the relevant supercode
    If the supercode is accepted everything seems fine
    About this point, when I try to insert the Navi-ID on the dedicated TeleAtlas web page, it says that my NavID is incorrect. I tried inserting it in the following forms:

    "AAAA-BBBB"
    "AAAABBBB"
    "AAAA - BBBB"

    but no way.

    Thanks to all for the support!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 13th April 2012, 09:49

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •