GPSUNDERGROUND FORUM IS ON SALE
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Loss of speed limit sign

  1. #1
    mmolvid is offline Paid Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Loss of speed limit sign

    Since installing the V7 East map (living i sweden) I have lost the speed limit marking on the top right corner on the map page. Has this got something to do with the new map?

    I am using FW 2660 could that be the problem?

    I am also wondering what RNS 510 model type i could possibly have (A, B or C model) on my passat manufactured in spring of 08?

    All help is highly regarded!

  2. #2
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Loss of speed limit sign

    Disappearance of the speed limit data is due to removing some attributes of the road data by the map supplier Navteq
    Whether this has been done on purpose is not known,
    I have noticed numerous other occasions where the same has occurred

    I am inclined to think that Navteq has made another of their numerous blunders!

    You will probably have an A or B model
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  3. #3
    mmolvid is offline Paid Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loss of speed limit sign

    I have now found out that the speed limit data has not disappeard totally, it is still there on the "major" roads, just not on the small ones like i V 6.1

    The reasoning for removing it from the other roads are strange, I am at a total loss to this resaoning...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loss of speed limit sign

    Quote Originally Posted by mmolvid View Post
    I have now found out that the speed limit data has not disappeard totally, it is still there on the "major" roads, just not on the small ones like i V 6.1

    The reasoning for removing it from the other roads are strange, I am at a total loss to this resaoning...
    I have done the same observation here in Denmark. Very strange to remove such a feature. This is a feature all low cost nav systems has as a standard.

    Rgd.
    Carsten

  5. #5
    gazo is offline Global Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,630
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2,665 Times in 188 Posts

    Re: Loss of speed limit sign

    Due to an obvious error made by Navteq in their Q4/2009 database, all publications for Siemens VDO based navigation units seem to suffer from this blunder.
    You will also appreciate that neither Navteq nor the OEM will admit that such an error was made!
    All questions should be directed through the forum
    Private messages will be disregarded

  6. #6
    Jayro is offline Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Loss of speed limit sign

    I did a thorough check of map V7 (ver 7343 from here) on my "C" unit with FW 2680 and in my neck of the woods "Scotland" the speed limit sign appears to be ok on Motorways, "A" roads and "B" roads as it was before in map ver 6.1.
    I would say it is reacting quicker to changes in the speed limit with this version ( within 10 meters of the sign)
    Last edited by Jayro; 5th January 2011 at 21:22. Reason: spelling

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •