Help updating Nuvi 265W maps

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help updating Nuvi 265W maps

I'm new to the Garmin world and in general it's been a while since the last time I updated the maps on a GPS and it was a TomTom, I saw the "how to" forum but it is confusing as I can see on the download map section several different files and not sure which apply to my device and which to newer more advance devices, please any help would be highly appreciated.

Manu1

It's simple device - you can use any unlocked map from https://gpsunderground.com/forum/for...ms/garmin-maps . If you do not know "how to" - here -> https://gpsunderground.com/forum/for...on-your-device is a good totorial that will help you in this case.

WBR, DebeliaMark, BG

Comment

Thank you debeliamark I think I can do it, let me just ask you on the maps section for the region I need I can see several different files to download: MS lock, ImgUn, 3DUn, D3478230A_JVC_nuvi 40-50, JVC, SID, etc, etc. Which is the one I need? I need to replace the “gmapprom” file please tell me which one, thanks.

Comment

Originally posted by Manu1 View Post
        Thank you debeliamark I think I can do it, let me just ask you on the maps section for the region I need I can see several different files to download: MS lock, ImgUn, 3DUn, D3478230A_JVC_nuvi 40-50, JVC, SID, etc, etc. Which is the one I need? I need to replace the “gmapprom” file please tell me which one, thanks.
        It's enough unlocked *.img files in your case [re]named as gmapprom.img [ or if you need more that one ] second [re]named as gmapsupp.img

Comment

Ok, I got the .img file and after it was unzipped it is 2.7 gig and the memory on my device is short of 2 gig, so I've got a SD card and formatted as described on the procedures and then create a folder named "map" I saved the file and renamed gmapsupp.img, ejected and put it on the device but the device is not reading the file, what am I doing wrong?

Comment