nüvi 215

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• nüvi 215

I just bought Garmin Nuvi 215 with preloaded Balkan Maps(Bulgaria, Serbia, Macedonia, Croatia ect.). Can someone tell me how to update or install new maps with SD card or PC. I found on the net City Navigator Europe NT, can I install this program on my navigator and HOW? What about the POI,how can I do it?

Re: Garmin Nuvi 215 updates?

This should work for your 215

for using a map from the SD card just rename the new map to gmapsupp.img then select that file from your unit

Comment

I have downloaded City Navigator Europe NT 2011.10, and there are 8 zipped files, what should I do? I bought a new micro SD 4gb card, and made a garmin folder, and made copy "gmapsupp.img" to SDCard -> folder garmin. What else? Sorry I'm a beginner in this field. Will I lose the original maps and actualization of the maps from the original software? Thank you.

Comment

Originally posted by frederic View Post
        I have downloaded City Navigator Europe NT 2011.10, and there are 8 zipped files, what should I do? I bought a new micro SD 4gb card, and made a garmin folder, and made copy "gmapsupp.img" to SDCard -> folder garmin. What else? Sorry I'm a beginner in this field. Will I lose the original maps and actualization of the maps from the original software? Thank you.
        Frederic,

I assume you downlaoded an "unlocked" IMG file. The 8 zipped OR rar files you downloaded are part of a "split archive" and if you extract the Part-01 (or whatever it's called), the archive tool will automatically unpack and rejoin all the parts for you. You should end up with one large file (over a gig) named either gmapprom.img or gmapsupp.img

If it is called gmapprom.img simply rename it to gmapsupp.img and then copy (drag & drop) it to the garmin folder of your SD card and you should have your maps. That gmapsupp.img file contains all of the maps including all of the built in POI's. You should not have to do anything else.